EE broadband review: is it any good?

ee store front

EE offer three main broadband deals: up to 17Mb; up to 38Mb fibre; and up to 76Mb fibre max. All deals come with truly unlimited usage.

We look at whether EE home broadband is worth signing up for.

Rating
Price:

Speed:

Reliability:

Customer service:

Overall
4 out of 5

EE provides broadband over the BT network, meaning it's available to at least 90% of households across the UK.

EE's broadband speeds as experienced by their customers also perform well against other providers according to independent tests by Ofcom.

And EE 4G mobile customers will also get a 5GB data boost for taking home broadband from the same provider.

In this article

We take a look at:

  1. Special offers
  2. EE broadband deals
  3. Fibre broadband deals
  4. Broadband speeds
  5. EE Bright Box router
  6. EE TV
  7. Customer service
  8. Verdict: is EE home broadband any good?

What's good about EE broadband?

Special offers

At the time of writing EE are offering new subscribers a free Google Home when they join with their up to 76Mb Fibre Max deal.

EE Broadband Latest Offers

Get a £125 reward with EE Fibre Max Broadband

Hurry! Offer ends 7 December 2017.
No upfront cost, 18 month minimum term applies.

EE also offer new customers a £50 early cancellation credit if they switch to EE while in contract with their existing provider.

It's an interesting offer for anyone who's struggling with bad broadband and wants to get out - find out .

EE mobile phone customers will also benefit from a 5GB data boost when they also take EE home broadband. It's available to EE customers on 4G plans.

EE broadband deals

EE offer three broadband deals:

All come with truly unlimited usage and an 18-month minimum term. An EE 'Bright Box' router is also included with all deals.

Package Broadband Contract term Upfront price Monthly price
ee EE Broadband + Line Only Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £21.50
for 18 mths,
then £30
ee EE Fibre + Line Only Up to 38Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £29
for 18 mths,
then £35
ee EE Fibre Plus + Line Only Up to 76Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £33
for 18 mths,
then £40

Price

EE's standard up to 17Mb broadband is only beaten by the Post Office on price, but this is based on cost over an 18-month period.

People who'd be willing to switch providers after 12-months would find Plusnet, TalkTalk and Sky all offer cheaper prices than EE.

Package Broadband Contract Upfront price Monthly price
ee EE Broadband + Line Only Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £21.50
for 18 mths,
then £30
BT BT Unlimited Broadband + Weekend calls Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
18 months £9.99 £23.99
for 18 mths,
then £40.99
Plusnet Plusnet Unlimited + Line Only Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £18.99
for 18 mths,
then £27.98
Sky Sky Broadband Unlimited + Talk Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
12 months £19.95 £18
for 12 mths,
then £28.99
talktalk TalkTalk Fast Broadband Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
12 months Free £18.95
for 12 mths,
then £25.50

Fibre broadband

EE's fibre broadband also performs well on price. Again it's not the cheapest, but only the Post Office, TalkTalk and Origin Broadband are.

It's more common to see other providers with 18-month minimum terms on their fibre packages, and EE are currently waiving any setup fee on both their fibre deals.

Package Broadband Contract Upfront price Monthly price
ee EE Fibre + Line Only Up to 38Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £29
for 18 mths,
then £35
BT BT Unlimited Infinity 1 + Weekend calls Up to 52Mb
Unlimited
18 months £9.99 £29.99
for 18 mths,
then £47.49
Plusnet Plusnet Unlimited Fibre + Line Only Up to 38Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £22.99
for 18 mths,
then £32.98
Sky Sky Fibre + Talk Up to 38Mb
25GB usage
18 months £29.95 £20
for 18 mths,
then £28.99
talktalk TalkTalk Faster Fibre Up to 38Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £25
for 12 mths,
then £27.50

Home phone

EE home broadband requires customers to also take their line rental and home phone service.

They don't include any calls as standard, but customers can choose to add on packages from £4 per month.

All call plans include calls to 0800 and 0808 numbers free of charge.

Out of allowance call charges include:

EE also offer a Call Plus service with seven calling features including call divert, three-way calling and anonymous call rejection. This costs £5 per month.

Broadband speeds

EE home broadband is available at three speed options - up to 17Mb, as well as fibre connections offering up to 38Mb and 76Mb.

Ofcom's most recent research into broadband speeds revealed EE's standard up to 17Mb broadband was delivering real world speeds faster than both BT and TalkTalk, although marginally slower than Sky and Plusnet.

Ofcom average speeds, published April 2017
Advertised speed Over 24hrs Peak time
(8-10pm weekdays)
Sky up to 17Mb 10.1Mb to 11.5Mb 9.9Mb to 11.4Mb
Plusnet up to 17Mb 9.6Mb to 11.4Mb 9.5Mb to 11.3Mb
EE up to 17Mb 9.4Mb to 11.7Mb 9.2Mb to 11.4Mb
BT up to 17Mb 9.1Mb to 10.8Mb 9.0Mb to 10.6Mb
TalkTalk up to 17Mb 8.6Mb to 10Mb 8.6Mb to 9.9Mb

EE's up to 38Mb fibre broadband is delivering the fastest speeds to customers compared to the other main up to 38Mb providers, including Sky, Plusnet and TalkTalk.

Ofcom average speeds, published April 2017
Advertised speed Over 24hrs Peak time
(8-10pm weekdays)
EE up to 38Mb 33.6Mb to 35.2Mb 32.4Mb to 34.5Mb
Sky up to 38Mb 33Mb to 34.6Mb 32.8Mb to 34.3Mb
Plusnet up to 38Mb 31Mb to 33.5Mb 30.1Mb to 32.7Mb
TalkTalk up to 38Mb 30.8Mb to 32.8Mb 30.6Mb to 32.6Mb

EE's up to 76Mb fibre broadband also performed well, only coming second to BT's own Infinity service.

Ofcom average speeds, published April 2017
Advertised speed Over 24hrs Peak time
(8-10pm weekdays)
BT Up to 76Mb 57.9Mb to 60.7Mb 57.0Mb to 59.8Mb
EE Up to 76Mb 56.3Mb to 60.8Mb 55.3Mb to 59.9Mb
Plusnet Up to 76Mb 54.6Mb to 57.7Mb 53.9Mb to 57Mb
Sky Up to 76Mb 54.3Mb to 59.9Mb 53.6Mb to 59.1Mb
TalkTalk Up to 76Mb 51.6Mb to 56.7Mb 51.2Mb to 56.3Mb

Truly unlimited broadband

EE broadband offers truly unlimited usage - this means they don't have a fair use policy or manage traffic on their network, both of which could slow down heavier users.

On top of their fast real world speeds, this is a real winning point for EE, as other truly unlimited broadband providers tend to also cost more too, such as Sky and BT. This makes EE one of the cheapest providers for truly unlimited broadband.

EE Bright Box routers

ee router

We also like how EE offer a slightly improved router than other budget providers Plusnet and TalkTalk.

Both Bright Box routers come with automatic wireless switching - which means the router will move to the quietest wireless channel to avoid interference from neighbours.

EE TV

EE offer a TV service to their broadband customers - although it's primarily a freeview and 7-day catch up service with additional content provided through apps like Now TV.

EE TV also offers the ability to watch live and recorded content on compatible mobiles and tablets with the EE TV app.

Youview services from BT, Plusnet and TalkTalk are similar but all three offer a lot more content and premium channels than you'd find on EE TV.

And there's certainly no contest against pay TV players Sky and Virgin Media.

The EE set top box does come with four tuners and 1TB hard drive, which is good for such a slim TV service. It allows customers to watch and record multiple programs at the same time, and 1TB is enough to record around 600 hours of standard definition TV.

Customer service

EE's customer service seems to have improved since the provider committed to providing a better service in September 2015.

In early 2015 Ofcom complaints reports for EE were the highest amongst the biggest six providers - and had been for quite some time.

It was at this time EE committed to creating 500 additional customer service jobs as well as moving 1,000 roles to the UK from overseas calls centres.

These improvements seem to have paid off - with Ofcom reporting complaints against EE having dropped to close to the industry average since early 2016.

Fixed line broadband complaints per 100,000 customers

ofcom complaints

SOURCE: Ofcom Telecoms and Pay TV Complaints, April 2017

Verdict: is EE broadband any good?

EE offer well priced broadband - they're only just behind budget providers Post Office, Plusnet and TalkTalk on price.

And unlike Post Office, Plusnet and TalkTalk, EE offer truly unlimited downloads, a more advanced router, and are delivering some of the fastest real world broadband speeds.

Customer service has improved to a steady rate since the start of 2016, which shows EE's commitment to deliver for its customers has been more than just words.

Offers including 5GB data boost for EE mobile customers and a free Google Home for those taking Fibre Max broadband make EE a provider hard to pass up.

Comments

1
24 July 2017
Jimmy

We've had EE for a couple of years now and have never had a problem with either ADSL or their Fibre services. We have just recently switched to fibre about 9 months ago and are getting just above the max speed for our plan (78Mbps). Reliability is very good, we've never had an outage for all I can remember, and receive a low latency of 8ms on our connection.

Prior to EE, we had most major ISPs but were either not happy with the service or price. However, EE meet both requirements and I would highly recommend them.

For reference, I am from the East London area.

2
16 June 2017
Ellie

Well our internet has always been fine, and all of a sudden it has stopped working and the woman we spoke to was very nice and said she would ring us back regarding our network, and help us to try and get the internet back working - and she never did!

3
30 November 2016
scgf

I've been with EE Broadband (formerly Orange, and before that Freeserve) for years and really haven't had a single problem. I started with dial-up, moved to ISDN. then ADSL and now fibre. I get the promised speed and have not had any downtime. Highly recommended.

4
10 October 2016
RMC

Horrible experience. People, avoid using this company! Our broadband should have come active one month ago and it never did. Called and called, send us an engineer, send us a new router. Nothing worked! Still problem is not sorted. It's ridiculous! Don't make the same mistake as me!

5
3 October 2016
Mahal

Absolutely awful! I mean just stay away. I've been with them nearly 1 year and my goodness their customer service don't care! My download speed is 0.32 upload 0.08!!!

They still think I will pay this month

Constant cut outs, they often give no service for days

6
20 January 2015
paul

After being with Orange broadband for years my tariff shot up as they said I live outside of their network.
How is this possible as they use BT Wholesale which is all that we have here?


» Read more of the latest news


» Search for more guides on broadband and mobile


Follow us or subscribe for FREE updates and special offers