Plusnet broadband review

plusnet broadband© Plusnet

PLUSNET sell themselves as customer service superheroes with super low prices. But do those claims stack up? We've taken a look to find out.

Our Rating
Features:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Overall
4.5 out of 5

Plusnet became known for offering "the UK's cheapest broadband" due to their old Essentials package, but they still offer some of the lowest cost broadband and phone deals around.

Today Plusnet offer three different packages; a highly competitive unlimited deal and two fibre broadband deals boasting speeds of up to 38Mb and 76Mb.

Find out more about Plusnet's services, prices and the latest offers by reading on, or use the menu on the right to jump to a specific part.

Special offers

Plusnet often have introductory broadband deals, discounts and incentives for new customers. Read on to find out more about the latest special offers and sign up below.

Offer Terms
plusnet Unlimited broadband from £18.99/mth for 18 months plus £75 cashback

Hurry! Offer ends in 3 days!
28 November 2017
No activation fee. 18 month minimum term. Costs may vary depending on location.
plusnet Unlimited Fibre up to 38Mb from £22.99/mth for 18 months.

Hurry! Offer ends in 3 days!
28 November 2017
No activation fee. 18 month minimum term.
plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra up to 76Mb from £29.99/mth for 18 months.

Hurry! Offer ends in 3 days!
28 November 2017
No activation fee. 18 month minimum term.

Plusnet broadband packages

Plusnet is one of the cheapest providers of broadband around, even compared to other budget broadband providers.

Package Broadband Contract terms Upfront price Monthly price
plusnet Unlimited + Line Only Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £18.99
for 18 mths,
then £27.98
plusnet Unlimited Fibre + Line Only Up to 38Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £22.99
for 18 mths,
then £32.98
plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra + Line Only Up to 76Mb
Unlimited
18 months £25 £29.99
for 18 mths,
then £37.98

Compare full prices and prices by postcode using our Plusnet broadband search.

Plusnet line rental is currently £18.99 per month, following an increase in prices implemented in June 2017.

The monthly price column above includes the cost of line rental as well as the broadband package - taking £18.99 off the total cost shows just how cheap Plusnet broadband can be.

Find out more about Plusnet's home phone service below.

However, unlike many other providers, Plusnet also allow customers to use their broadband and fibre services without also taking their line rental service.

Package Broadband Contract terms Upfront price Monthly price
plusnet Unlimited Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
12 months £35 £13.49
plusnet Unlimited Fibre Up to 38Mb
Unlimited
12 months £50 £17.49
plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra Up to 76Mb
Unlimited
12 months £50 £22.49

So is Plusnet the cheapest broadband provider in the UK?

Here's how they stack up compared to their biggest standard broadband competitors:

Package Broadband Contract terms Upfront price Monthly price
Plusnet Unlimited + Line Only Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £18.99
for 18 mths,
then £27.98
BT Unlimited Broadband + Weekend calls Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
18 months £9.99 £23.99
for 18 mths,
then £40.99
Sky Broadband Unlimited + Talk Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
12 months £19.95 £18
for 12 mths,
then £28.99
talktalk Fast Broadband Up to 17Mb
Unlimited
12 months Free £18.95
for 12 mths,
then £25.50

The main reason that Plusnet are well known in this regard is their special offers, which can drive down overall costs significantly, but even without promotional deals they are still one of the cheapest broadband providers available.

Plusnet fibre broadband

Plusnet also provide some of the cheapest fibre broadband services too. Frequently TalkTalk and Plusnet compete most fiercely on offering the very cheapest broadband deals.

Despite that Virgin Media isn't that much more expensive than TalkTalk or Plusnet, find out more about Virgin Media packages here.

Package Broadband Contract terms Upfront price Monthly price
plusnet Unlimited Fibre + Line Only Up to 38Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £22.99
for 18 mths,
then £32.98
bt Unlimited Infinity 1 + Weekend calls Up to 52Mb
Unlimited
18 months £9.99 £29.99
for 18 mths,
then £47.49
sky Fibre Unlimited + Talk Up to 38Mb
Unlimited
18 months £29.95 £25
for 18 mths,
then £38.99
talktalk Faster Fibre Up to 38Mb
Unlimited
18 months Free £25
for 12 mths,
then £27.50
virgin media Vivid 100 + Talk Weekends Up to 100Mb
Unlimited
12 months £20 £34
for 12 mths,
then £45
virgin media Vivid 200 + Talk Weekends Up to 200Mb
Unlimited
12 months £20 £39
for 12 mths,
then £50

Plusnet home phone (optional)

While it's easy to be enticed by cheap standalone broadband deals, it is worth considering that line rental is still a requirement in order to use broadband, whoever the provider is.

When opting for a combined line rental and broadband service from Plusnet new customers receive a reduction on the activation fee, sometimes wiping it altogether.

And Plusnet's home phone service offers fairly good value compared to the competition.

Phone packages and extras

Gone are the days of inclusive weekend calls. Just like Sky and TalkTalk, Plusnet have removed the weekend calls inclusive element of their basic phone packages.

Even fibre broadband packages incur additional fees for any kind of inclusive calls.

There are two main packages on offer; 'Evening & Weekend UK & Mobile Calls' which costs £4 a month and 'Unlimited UK & Mobile' which costs £8 extra a month.

Both offer unlimited anytime calls of up to an hour to UK landlines beginning with 01, 02, 03, 0845 and 0870. A fair usage limited is in place limited users to 150 calls or 1000 minutes or calls to 0845 and 0870 numbers per month (whichever one is reached first).

With the Evening & Weekend UK & Mobile Calls package inclusive calls are only available between 7pm and 7am Monday to Friday, or any time on Saturday and Sunday. Calls must start and finish between those times in order to not incur additional charges.

Inclusive calls to UK mobiles must also be made between 7pm and 7am Monday to Friday, or at any time on Saturday and Sunday. Calls should start and end within those hours to be included. A fair usage limit of 1,000 minutes applies and inclusive calls must be less than 60 minutes long. The Unlimited plan has a 2,000 minute per month limit on free mobile calls.

Please note that some 07 numbers are not considered mobile numbers and may not be included.

There is also a package for international calls. The Anytime International package offers 300 minutes to landlines in Plusnet's top 35 international destinations, including France, Spain, Germany, the US, Australia, India, Pakistan and China, as well as some international mobiles.

Just like the other packages it also includes landline calls and calls to 0870 and 0845 numbers, but does not include any free calls to mobiles.

A mobile bolt-on can be added to the Anytime International plan for £3, offering 100 minutes of calls to UK mobiles included.

Package Included calls Price monthly
Evening & Weekend UK & Mobile
(7pm to 7am Mon-Fri, all Sat & Sun)
Calls to UK landlines
0845 and 0870 numbers
1,000 minutes to UK mobiles
£4.00
Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls to UK landlines
0845 and 0870 numbers
2,000 minutes to UK mobiles
£8.00
Anytime International Calls to UK landlines
0845 and 0870 numbers
300 minutes to landlines in 35 international destinations + mobiles in US and Canada
£8.00
Mobile bolt on 100 anytime minutes to UK mobiles £3.00

Compare the costs of Plusnet line rental, call plans and broadband on our Plusnet deals page.

Calls made outside of the inclusive times to UK landlines and mobiles are charged at the same rate as BT; 12.54p per minute with a 21p connection fee.

All Plusnet packages come with free basic voicemail and free calls to other Plusnet customers and the support number.

Additional features such as caller ID and more advanced voicemail features can be added for just a few pounds.

Voicemail Extra Caller Display Anonymous call reject Reminder Call, Call waiting, Call divert, Ringback
£3.00 99p £4.00 £2.50

Plusnet also offer the ability for customers to bundle some these additional call features as follows:

Bundles exclude Voicemail Extra and Anonymous call reject.

Customers can also use the Ringback and Reminder call service on a pay-as-you-go basis at 20p per call.

Plusnet increased the price of all their services by £1 in 2017, which has made them a bit more expensive than some Internet Service Providers (ISPs), but these prices are likely to rise soon making Plusnet one of the cheapest.

Plusnet's line rental deal is also one of the cheapest around at £197.88 per year or £16.49 per month.

Geographical pricing

There is some variation in Plusnet's pricing depending on location.

90% of the UK can enjoy the lowest Plusnet prices. Plusnet say they sometimes reclassify non-low cost areas as low cost areas, but will not reclassify a low cost area as non-low cost unless UK law says they have to.

When signing up for Plusnet customers are asked their postcode and telephone number, and at that point can find out whether they can get the lowest prices.

People outside the low cost areas, such as many rural areas, may want to consider John Lewis, who resell Plusnet services but do not use geographical pricing. Find out more in our full John Lewis review.

Plusnet are still one of the cheapest ISPs out there but what else have they got onto offer?

Youview TV on Plusnet

Youview TV reviews
Best for Youview: BT vs TalkTalk
BT TV: review
TalkTalk any good: here

Plusnet fibre customers can also get Youview TV for just £5 per month.

It's a minimum 18 month contract with the choice of Youview or Youview+ boxes.

The basic box is smaller and can be used to pause and rewind live TV for up to 30 minutes for Standard Definition (SD) programmes and 15 minutes for High Definition (HD) programmes. The Youview+ box is larger and includes a 500GB hard drive that can hold approximately 125 hours in HD or 300 hours in SD.

Customers can get either box with their subscription for a £7.99 postage fee. The Youview+ box also comes with a £50 activation fee.

Both boxes provide access to over 70 Freeview TV and radio channels and 20 premium entertainment channels as standard.

Alibi* Animal Planet* British Eurosport 1* British Eurosport 2*
BT Sport 1* BT Sport Extra Comedy Central* Crime and Investigation*
Discovery Channel* Discovery: Investigation E!* History Channel*
Lifetime* MTV* National Geographic* Nat Geo Wild*
Sony SyFy* TLC* Universal*
W*

*channels available in HD for £3 a month; see below.

BT Sport 1 is included in the last and users can upgrade to the full BT Sport package including BT Sport Europe for an additional £5 per month.

Other channels can also be added to the package for £3 per month. There are three sets of additional channels available:

Bundle Channels
Entertainment Plus Comedy Central Extra, MTV Music, Movies 24, H2, TCM, Eden, Good Food, Discovery Science, Discovery Turbo
Kids Disney Channel, Disney Jnr, Disney XD
Nickelodeon, Nick Junior, Nick Toons
Boomerang, Cartoon Network, Cartoonito
HD Alibi, Animal Planet, British Eurosport 1, British Eurosport 2, BT Sport 1, Comedy Central, Crime and Investigation, Dave, Discovery Channel, E!, History Channel, Lifetime, MTV, National Geographic, Nat Geo Wild, SyFy, TLC, Universal, W

HD customers with the BT Sport pack will also get those channels in HD.

Channel-specific catch up services are also available with Youview, including BBC iPlayer, ITV Player, All 4, My 5, Milkshake!, UKTV and Quest as well as STV and S4C where applicable.

Plusnet also offers Netflix. Existing subscribers can just login to Netflix while those who want to join can sign-up for Netflix through their television.

Customer service superheroes

Plusnet have built a reputation for offering good customer service over many years, better than many of their bigger competitors. Their support is provided in three ways:

Plusnet polls display a high level of customer satisfaction, but this is backed up by independent surveys, where they rank within the top 5 ISPs for customer service.

But that doesn't mean it's been complete smooth sailing for Plusnet customers over the years.

In 2014 Plusnet customers reported long waiting times for customer services. Plusnet claimed to have resolved this issue by opening an extra call centre but an Ofcom report in April 2017 found that Plusnet had the longest waiting times of any provider.

Plusnet also came in for criticism for the way they handled a significant service outage in autumn 2015. When many users lost their services and began tweeting and using the customer forum to ask for information Plusnet were late to respond and did not keep customer updated.

Overall though Plusnet do have a good reputation for offering a reliable service and putting things right in a timely fashion when problems arise.

Plusnet broadband

Below you can find detailed comparisons of broadband speeds, usage limits and contract information.

Plusnet speeds

Downloads

Plusnet's standard broadband is advertised as up to 17Mb, but according to figures released by Ofcom in April 2017 the average speeds are actually:

24-hour average Peak (8-10pm weekdays)
Up to 17Mb 9.6Mb to 11.4Mb 9.5Mb to 11.3Mb

SOURCE: Ofcom, UK Home Broadband Performance, April 2017. Available here [pdf].

Plusnet's "up to 17Mb" broadband is slower than Sky and EE's ADSL2+ services, but there isn't much between them. Read the results of our own research into connection speeds and consistency here.

Here's how Plusnet fibre broadband was measured in Ofcom's 2017 survey:

24-hour average Peak (8-10pm weekdays)
Up to 38Mb 31Mb to 33.5Mb 30.1Mb to 32.7Mb
Up to 76Mb 54.6Mb to 57.7Mb 53.9Mb to 57Mb

EE and Sky outperform Plusnet in the 38Mb category, offering average speeds of 33.6Mb to 35.2Mb and 33Mb to 34.6Mb respectively.

BT, Sky and EE were all found to offer faster speeds than Plusnet in the 76Mb category. The average speed for BT was 57.9Mb to 60.7Mb, Sky 54.3Mb to 59.9Mb and EE 56.3Mb to 60.8Mb.

The differences in speed in the 38Mb and 76Mb categories are more significant than in the 17Mb category.

Uploads

Plusnet were once one of the faster providers in terms of upload speed, with an average upload speed above 16Mb with their 76Mb service.

According to the Ofcom report BT, Sky, TalkTalk and EE offer faster upload speeds, although Plusnet are still highly competitive with other providers in this regard, clocking up faster average upload speeds than both Virgin services.

ofcom upload speeds

Plusnet is one of the top four providers of fibre broadband in the UK.

Traffic management

Plusnet are quite unusual in how openly they explain their traffic management system.

Traffic management is all about maintaining good speeds for all users by setting different priorities for different types of traffic. For example, moving file downloads lower in priority than web browsing. Users can place any demands on a network, so it's crucial that priorities are made to maintain speeds where activities require it.

Similarly, activities such as file sharing or streaming may be limited at peak times in order to maintain network performance.

Plusnet, however, have a slightly different approach to traffic management. It sets these priorities on a house-by-house basis. No Plusnet-connected home will have speeds limited because of use from another property. Traffic within the property is monitored and controlled.

Traffic types are classified as Low, Medium or High priority:

Plusnet customers can get the Pro add on for £5 per month, offering lower latency and ping times. The options appears in the 'Add-ons' section of the members' area of their website.

Pro means all online activity is assigned a Medium or High priority:

It is useful to consider your requirements carefully. Often when people think they want faster internet, what they actually need is a more reliable connection that doesn't stall.

No download limits

Since June 2014 all Plusnet deals come with unlimited data. Previously users had been charged based on monthly usage, but in 2012 they introduced their first unlimited package and it soon became the standard.

Flexible 30-day contracts

Plusnet are one of the few ISPs who offer a no contract service, with a minimum contract length of just 30 days on the standard broadband plus phone package.

Some providers sell fibre broadband on flexible terms, but Plusnet don't. Also, if customers want flexible ADSL they will also have to take their home phone line.

The price of that flexibility is usually £31.48, but deals for new customers do pop-up from time to time. Recently it has been advertised for £23.99 per month for the first year.

12 month contracts might be standard for most broadband providers, Plusnet customers can leave at any time with 30 days' notice and no penalties or kill fees.

This can be really useful for students or those in short tenancies or temporary housing. Find out more about short term broadband packages in our student broadband guide and more about flexible contracts here.

All in all: the best Plusnet deal

Plusnet offer some of the cheapest broadband services available, and their services offer some unique features, including geographical pricing and an individual approach to traffic management.

Plusnet frequently launch new deals and promotions. Compare them on our Plusnet broadband deals page.

Comments

1
16 November 2017
john adams

Absolutely terrible company. It took 37 phone calls and numerous hours talking with customer service, constantly trying to rectify continuous mistakes, having to explain problems over and over again. Nobody seemed to have any idea about how to solve a problem or was even concerned about the situation they caused. I even tried emails and that didn't work, unable to talk to a manager or supervisor as they hid behind customer service staff. Having dealt with many companies in my job, large and small, this is the most inefficient, disorganised and incompetent. How can they have the cheek to put great customer service on their adverts! What customer service?

2
15 September 2017
nosheepzone

Really bad customer service. No tickets for service. Have to use chat which is only open during day. If over their low email limit, they archive your email wasting your time and theirs as you have to request for it to be unarchived. The fact that you reduce the load after they ask is irrelevant if the next time they check it is again over. They do not bother monitoring the reduction in load. Inconvenient, unhelpful. Don't use.

3
1 September 2017
supajet

Avoid Plusnet. It's ok when it works, but any problems then get yourself ready for a massive wait and shocking customer service. You never get to talk to anyone and if you do (after an hours' wait) you will get transferred and then cut off, and their attitude stinks like a week old kipper. Like I say, it's ok when it works and shocking when it doesn't. Love the fact that their recorded message says "if you have access to the internet blah blah blah" - I would love to, if I did I would not be ringing!

4
21 July 2017
Catherine Merrick

Truly awful service from Plusnet in July 2017. Phone & Broadband service at our new house came on as ordered on the expected date. It worked fine for 2 weeks. Then the line (phone and broadband) went dead. We have been calling their customer service for 1.5 weeks now (regular wait time for an agent is 20-30mins) and although the phone was reactivated within 4 days, they have still not been able to reconnect our broadband. It seems that Plusnet had recorded that an engineer was needed to connect our service (not true - everything was working fine from the initiation date). Therefore, when the 'engineer visit ticket date' expired, they just cut off the service. No warning or rational explanation. And they refuse to switch it back on until we have been without internet for almost 2 weeks.

5
17 July 2017
John Field

I'm a long-term subscriber. In the early days, Plusnet was helpful, accessible and provided a reliable broadband service. These days, and especially since it was taken over by BT, it is appalling. Broadband is slow, intermittent and unreliable (I'm in London!) and I've twice lost all connection for around 3-4 days. They usually blame BT for this - so it's good to know that other subscribers are having the same problems. It's almost impossible to get through to customer service because there are wait times of up to 30 minutes - they are obviously ludicrously understaffed and appear not to care. Despite a steep decline in the service, they've had the cheek to increase their prices recently. Avoid this firm at all costs. I've had enough and am looking elsewhere.

18 July 2017
Choose team

We're sorry to hear that John - sounds like a hassle! We have plenty of guides into many different broadband providers in our guide which we hope can be of use: <a href="https://disq.us/url?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.choose.co.uk%2Fmedia%2Fguide%2F%3AF1yKx5YUXyz4TYx7WXyDDnNrSpE&amp;cuid=2412393" rel="nofollow noopener" title="https://www.choose.co.uk/media/guide/">https://www.choose.co.uk/me...</a>
And once you have done your research, you can check out the current deals here: <a href="https://disq.us/url?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.choose.co.uk%2Fcompare%2Fbroadband-deals%2F%3Akf08BtihNrBY5QXzjkfJyxXYiKQ&amp;cuid=2412393" rel="nofollow noopener" title="https://www.choose.co.uk/compare/broadband-deals/">https://www.choose.co.uk/co...</a>
Hope this helps! :)

6
28 June 2017
Rob Watson

After spending 5 hours on and off the phone talking to TalkTalk in India (or was it Outer Mongolia) last night regarding a no internet issue, which is still ongoing, I looked into Plusnet as an alternative due to their call centres only being in the UK, and I just wanted to raise a point that I felt was relevant to this thread, in that during my research I found a statement regarding a 'get out of contract' option should download speeds be slower than Plusnet estimate on sign up. I feel that this gives an added reassurance and although inconvenient if you have to change again after a couple of months, at least you aren't locked in for the full 18 month term. I (with this in mind) have decided to give it a go, keep your bits crossed for me.

7
19 February 2017
Richard Phillips

Not too pleased with Plusnet. I pay for top level fibre broadband, up to 80mb, was told estimated 76-82 before install, exchange less than quarter of a mile away, cabinet around the corner.
Streaming services continually fail, picture always pixelating when service slows down, just did a line test after 10 minutes of picture fading and getting between 17-21mb, nowhere near what I'm paying for. Can't wait for a cable service to arrive in our area.

8
7 February 2017
Pete

Plusnet have rapidly gone down hill in recent months, dreadful customer sevice and poor broadband as now freezes up and signs off suddenly. For months Plusnet have said they are aware of the problems and are dealing with it, so awful service for months, I'm leaving them mid contract as too poor to keep with until contract ends. My advice, AVOID - This is a very poor service provider. Pete

9
1 February 2017
Marc Higgins

Moved house and had no internet for 5 weeks, due "a problem with the service to the box outside" according to the engineer who came. A month later receive a letter billing me &pound;65 for a call out due to "user error", absolute lie, the router was set up correctly after numerous calls to PlusNet when they eventually answered after the standard 20-30 minute wait on hold. Was furious with the charge and after "investigation" was told the charge will stand, so asked to cancel my contract as I have not received the service I signed up for, was told ok it will be &pound;428.43 to cancel due to contract, I told them I was cancelling direct debit as I can't afford that but do not want their shoddy service, was told ok it will be passed to a debt collection agency and will effect your credit negatively - I'm going to look into this further as I don't respond well to threats and do not like bullies. They are scum and totally unprofessional, the operator Mohamed Asif took great pleasure in listening to how I couldn't afford the unnecessary charge and also enjoyed shouting over me every single time I tried to speak. I will be doing my best to warn people about this pathetic company and their bullying ways, they disgust me.

10
24 January 2017
deborah Clarvis

The absolute worst customer service in the world! We're trying to move our current Plusnet contract with us to our new house. We have been without phone or internet for 5 weeks now and they told us the earliest we can get it all switched on is 2 weeks from now... And we're still paying them... And their customer service reps have been both rude to me and raised their voices at me when I have rang for updates. It is absolutely ridiculous.

11
15 January 2017
Mr Men

Useless, owned by BT money grabbing liars, they will eventually offer compensation, delete your account and never pay. Bottom of list on Ofcom for complaints.

Avoid and choose anyone else

12
2 January 2017
Alan Wright

I've been with Plusnet for 6 years now, through several house moves and service upgrades. It's been nothing but top notch service all the way. I've moved my mobile to them now that they have launched Plusnet mobile. When they did get bought by BT I did consider a move, but their service seems to run as it always did and independently of BT, whom I had a nightmare with, so it appears to be thankfully not turning into BT. If you are thinking of switching then do give them a call and chat. They even speak English!

24 January 2017
P$

I am thinking of going with them but the reviews on other sites scare me.

30 January 2017
Bascule

Well, in the interest of balance: I have been with PlusNet for 12 years (heck!). Have occasionally considered switching (because apparently it's the done thing) but always stayed after a little haggling. Only ever had one or two very brief outages in that time.
Currently on fibre and seeing 50(+)Mmbs. Enjoying the 4K content from Netflix and Amazon. No buffering (image starts out low res then quickly ramps up to superb 4K within a matter of seconds).
Ancient PlusNet (Technicolor) router recently started to play up and has been replaced with their latest Hub One.
To those of you who are concerned by the negative posts here: it may be worth bearing in mind that those who have a bad experience (and I'm not denying that some have) are more likely to post their views here than those who are ticking along nicely.

13
18 October 2016
grumpy old git

I also made the dreadful mistake of choosing PlusNet to supply us with router and line. It was delivered and connected quick and on time but that's as far as I will go for them. Within days all the family were at my throat as no one could get any connection via Wi-Fi. Called the "no help or service line" who said it's just setting up glitches, well it's been 8 weeks of internet dropping off and disconnection and about 5 calls to the "no help or
service line". I have been shown how to reset the router, switch channels, split channels, now been asking to cancel the contract but I will have to pay &pound;250 to cover the next 18 months payments. I have raised a complaint to "CISAS" the telecommunications watch dog and now PlusNet wants me to try a new router to see if that will help, they still won't let me leave. So in my opinion, if you are looking to join PlusNet, just
stop, put the mouse down, and back away from the keyboard quickly. Even though their parent company is BT, I had so much better connection and Wi-Fi and would go back today if I could.

14
11 October 2016
Neil

Hard to contact by any means other than phoning. The online chat never seems to be available and when contacting them by email, all they send is an auto response saying that they don't respond to emails for various reasons. It's odd that email contact works very well in my experience with other online service providers. I contacted Plusnet on Twitter and was referred back to their support phone number. They must think that people have all day to spend chatting. Our broadband stopped working due to an outage and it seems incredible that they don't have any inbuilt redundancy systems to provide continuity of service. I'm fed up and am switching to Sky.

15
30 September 2016
Kevin

Plusnet are ridiculously poor, we were upgraded from their unlimited normal broadband to fibre thinking we would be getting a better service. How wrong was I, we have a faulty service since we switched, the wifi cuts off every 2 minutes and despite multiple calls they are refusing to let us out of our contract as we are not getting what we promised. They state and I quote, plusnet do not offer a wifi service, it is a feature of the box and if it doesn't work it's not their problem. They are trying to get us to pay &pound;400 to get out of our contract. We will fight them on this and they cannot even stick to their 72 hr turnaround on their replies, they are a joke and I would advise anyone not to go with them

16
24 September 2016
Matt Hall

AVOID THIS COMPANY!!!
I moved to Plusnet and had to pay a year's line rental a fortnight before the service was connected. A month later they started charging me monthly line rental. When I refused to pay (again) they stopped my outgoing calls and made many web sites inaccessible.
They have now blocked my access to their web site and will not answer the phone to me either, playing music at me for hours on end.
They refuse to give out their e-mail address and send e-mails out that you can't reply to.
I have twice managed to get onto them (by devious means) and have twice been promised that the issue is sorted, but it is NOT.
I strongly advise everyone to avoid this company like the plague.

17
21 September 2016
Emer

Avoid like the plague. I am trying to get mine installed after weeks of wait. It is not worth saving a few pounds for - I am never less than 50 in the queue when i use online chat, and you dont get through in less than 25 mins to speak to customer service ever (I have rang every day this week). And if you try ringing their sales team they transfer you back to the end of the line. When I complained they were incredibly apathetic, they just dont care at all.

18
23 August 2016
Kate Garland

Truly awful service and connection speed! I can honestly say their customer service is the worst I have ever experienced.

The waiting time on calls is always over 20 minutes, then after speaking to one clueless department I'll be passed to another and made to wait a further 20 minutes (only to have to explain myself all over again).

I didn't receive any notification of what was happening. I ordered fibre but didn't receive it as it wasn't available (fair enough but there wasn't any email or phone call to inform me of this). They just keep you guessing all of the time.

Awful, awful, awful!!!

19
21 May 2016
AnneTeak

Used to be good.. When it was a single company. It's employes are ok... but they are helpless to get Openreach to do anything.

Even the Plusnet employee thinks he is part of Openreach.

So now Plusnet just does what Openreach tells it. And I'm sure that I don't have to explain what Openreach' s reputation is.

In our village, one person has had 8 Openreach engineers... problem not solved. Several have had 4. We were sled to have a second... then he didnt turn up.

It's not Plusnet's fault but if they don't get Openreach to give them what they are paying for, most people will be off to, BT Infinity... but maybe that's BT's plan.

20
29 March 2016
Simon Hepworth

I Would not recommend Plusnet.
From the point of view of the broadband they are fine, it is solid and fast. Pray that nothing goes wrong though, or you are in for a world of faffing around with them.
Migrated to their fibre in October all went well, change over was smooth. In february my service got restricted for not paying the bill. Funny, I thought the money is there, and the DD is active. Turns out they have a problem at their end and haven't taken the money, but the rep says she can take it over the phone. A week later service restricted again. Phone up, they have no record of the payment. I argue with the rep, who calls me a liar on the phone, and hangs up on me. Phone back get someone else who tells us to send in a bank statement so they can verify what we say (It is now the end of March and that is still ongoing) March comes around and they do it again, not taking the money that is there waiting for them. BUT, there are charges for paying the last bill over the phone, AND for taking the restriction away. Considering the normal bill is roughly &pound;23.00 and the extra charges are roughly &pound;7.00 that's a sizeable percentage they are laying on top.
These are for things THEY did, not me.
And they are insisting I pay those charges.
Billing won't take calls from customers, or be transferred from reps, so the people who know about this side of things won't help, and the reps are useless because they aren't in billing, and can't resolve the problem.
Go to them if you're feeling lucky, but if you start to have problems, pray for a miracle. Because Plusnet seem to not be in the business of helping their customers

21
22 February 2016
alexis

Used to be good but now... have slowly become the Ryanair of broadband providers.

22
19 February 2016
SOOTY

I'VE BEEN WITH PLUSNET FOR OVER 3 YRS AFTER BEING WITH TALK TALK
WHAT A DIFFERENCE, WITH PLUSNET YOU HAVE ENGLISH CALL CENTRE, POLITE STAFF &amp; THEIR TECHNICAL STAFF ARE BRILLIANT, CALLED THEM ON A FEW OCCASIONS ONCE TO HELP SET UP NEW ASUS ROUTER TALKED ME THROUGH THE ENTIRE PROCESS, NOT HURRYING TO GET ME OFF THE PHONE
RECOMMENDED SEVERAL FRIENDS,
JUST GOT OFF PHONE FROM THEM TO RENEW MY CONTRACT
A1 SERVICE

24 January 2017
P$

Can they teach you where the caps lock is next time, please? ;)

23
14 January 2016
kevin

Been with Plusnet 5 years and have no complaints what so ever never let me down I am about to take the fibre and tv package will save me &pound;18 a month coming off sky basic package. Will keep you posted.

24
13 January 2016
Paul Anderson

Plusnet plural??

25
8 January 2016
neil

I am sorry I ever joined Plusnet - I was informed I would receive a broadband speed at least as good as my previous provider Talk Talk, I also received a written estimate of the speed - when I switched my speed has dropped 25%, is less than what I was quoted both verbal and in writing.
Spent many hours waiting to be connected to tech call centre etc -waited days while the 'checked the line and altered settings' all to no avail. What do I want - only to receive the speed I had before or to be released without charge from my 12 month contact. Plusnet can/will not do either.
Do not use this company who prides itself on customer service. Do sign up to this company.

26
7 January 2016
Johnny Aitken

Plusnet have let me down it's been 18 days without a phone service since I joined from Sky, their excuse is that sky haven't given them the number over yet. Surely all they need to do is change the number instead?

27
14 December 2015
Chris Jazz

Signed up to BT Basic, going for the Plusnet Unlimited 17Mb &pound;12.49 broadband deal. Please could someone confirm that there will be no extra charges from BT or Plusnet using these two options, seems too good to be true.

28
14 December 2015
David

Been with Plusnet for more than 15 years very pleased with the service apart from the price l have been charged which is the fault of BT taking advantage in rural areas. Now going over to super fast fibre. Had the regular fibre for a couple of years at another address which was excellent.

29
12 December 2015
Westkent

I've been on Plusnet fibre giving me a constant speed of 65Mb or above for 18 months now.
With the modem alongside a router set up, who honestly gives a hoot how it looks, they ain't ornaments.
One PlayStation, one Xbox, both in constant use with me streaming live sports or a film with a fire stick most evenings,
(The odd bit of buffering admittedly)
And I don't have any complaints.
Regards Westkent

30
9 December 2015
Jason

PlusNet are very good. Had no major problems. Some posters are being OTT and probably not genuine anyway. There are always small issues with phone number transfers, router delivery etc. I had terrible problems 3 years ago with BT moving house. Got sorted in the end. Been with PlusNet for Fibre and Phone for over a year. Have TV through Sky, but going to move that to PlusNet YouView when Sky contract runs out in two months. Only thing with PlusNet, is the router is not very good. I bought my own (BT Home Hub 5).

31
3 December 2015
Mapoo

I came from Origin Broadband which was Digital Region and sadly it came to an end 14th August 2014. That means I lost Fibre Optic in my area I had a speed of 2Mb lucky to get 3Mb sometimes but not all the time, terrible speed.

I then decided to give Plusnet a try, as I couldn't get any success with any other ISP's it kept cancelling my migration to their service e.g Sky. Luckily Plusnet gave me a new phone number line FREE! I got online within a week, I have had very little issues but they have always fixed them for me.

I am a lot happier now, we now have Fibre Optic in the area, which happened last month, I went on the cheaper package but the upload was very slow as they had slowed it down for that package, I have now moved to the fibre Optic extra package 6 months FREE after 6 months my cost will be &pound;19.99 BB and &pound;16.99 phone. I am getting around 73.50Mb when I do a speed test and my upload is around 18.40Mb. Fantastic service, I'm now on my second year with Plusnet and I don't regret it. I say to anyone thinking of joining them, go with your own instinct that's what I did. Oh and before you ask "NO I don't work for Plusnet" :)

32
23 November 2015
Reg

Plusnet are incompetent beyond belief.

Their customer service call waiting times are NEVER less than 20 minutes; I know from calling many times during the 6 weeks I was waiting for Fibre Extra to be installed.

I ended up taking 4 days off work to let in the engineers that Plusnet periodically dispatched to connect my internet - internet that never materialised, even after a month and a half.

I had no more annual leave left to be at the mercy of the Plusnet despots, so I cancelled my internet contract. In proper Plusnet fashion, I was put on hold for 20 minutes while waiting for that to be completed too.

If you are a chump with time and money to burn on having NO internet, Plusnet really will do you proud.

33
19 November 2015
Eleni

They are completely useless. Worst customer service ever, completely unreliable.

We moved house and decided to stay with Plusnet to make things easier and as the internet was ok. We contacted them and arranged the installation for the earliest possible date which would be a week after the move. The day of installation came and we were waiting home and nobody came. We contacted them again and after being on hold for at least an hour we were told that we can not get fibre broadband only standard and they cancelled the installation without even telling us. How could they not know that when we arranged the installation? Needless to say we took time off work for no reason, and now we have to wait for longer till we get another company.

Really bad service, I would not recommend them.

34
10 November 2015
dl_London

Plusnet set our connection up incorrectly and sent our router late. It took 4 weeks to get connected. You have to wait over 45mins on the phone to speak with them. The internet speed is shockingly slow, I bought 14Mbps and have been running speed tests every day with an average of 4Mbps. Cannot watch streamed video. Connection drops out intermittently at peak times. They blame BT for everything but the issue is congestion on their own network. They are the cheapest, the slowest and the worst.

35
6 November 2015
Thursa

Despite having to pay a hefty sum to get out of my contract, I recently left Plusnet due to their appalling internet supply and lack of customer service.

I could go on for hours, but briefly: the internet would drop out almost daily (which doesn't happen now that I've switched providers), sometimes for hours and despite them 'looking into it'; their online troubleshooter more often than not displayed an error message; they got my address wrong multiple times; it took an average wait of 3 weeks for an answer if you asked a question via the online customer portal; my online account details did not list a contract end date; they refused to take responsibility when called out on all these issues and didn't even offer an early termination discount in light of all the above.

As a final kick in the teeth, when I called up to pay the final bill I was told there was a 45 minute wait to be put through to a human being! I tried later in the day and it was 30 minutes and then 15, which is still terrible.

It's a massive relief to be rid of them and I strongly discourage anyone from using Plusnet!

36
29 October 2015
Nigel Newham

Have been long term copper cable customers of PlusNet and switched to fibre on the 37Mb package, including phone, six weeks ago. OpenReach failed to turn up on the agreed date but otherwise the installation was seamless and hassle free. We're delighted with it - no drop outs or other glitches at all. Are consistently getting 33Mb and never less than 30. I've seen 39Mb on the speed checker on several occasions. Best of all it's &pound;6 less a month than we were paying at &pound;10 a month (when you take the phone line from PlusNet) with free router and installation and a &pound;50 cheque as well. Very easy to manage everything on their portal and any e-queries have been quickly responded to.

37
12 August 2015
John

Hi, I have been with Plusnet for over 4 years now and I have to give credit where credit is due I find the service excellent in Co, Antrim NI I was with TalkTalk and oh boy never was I so glad to leave. Just thought I would add my wee bit.

38
7 August 2015
Matt

My friend switched to PlusNet about 2 weeks ago after his internet stopped working, he was with TalkTalk, I think. The setup was quick and without any problems and his speeds are very good, even at peak times (fibre). Because of this, I am also switching, engineer expected to come in 2 weeks, I'll see how it goes. PlusNet is one of the few providers which offers fibre in my area, surprisingly. The fibre line is there but TalkTalk doesn't seem to realise that.

39
2 June 2015
Zootius

To add some balance to Mark's experience below, I have been pleased with Plusnet's service on regular broadband for over a year. Uptime has been better than BT (don't know why - BT own them...) and the only time we had an outage, I was pleased to talk to a UK call centre where the lady on the phone was very knowledgeable about some pretty techy issues, and sorted the problem. This led me to bite the bullet and upgrade to Fibre broadband with them. Bear in mind that to upgrade to Fibre, you are at the mercy of the quality of the BT OpenReach engineer they send to flip your line over and convert your master socket. I was very pleased indeed with the skill of the guy they sent round to do our installation, who arrived promptly at the time and day we agreed. He was working for BT via Kelly services. Within an hour he had troubleshooted some cabling issues in the house, installed the BT fibre modem on the wall, and set up the new PlusNet router. He also did a speed test and showed me how the line speed was now over 10 times faster than before. So, that's my experience.

40
10 May 2015
Frank

I have been with Plusnet for around 4 years, initially on the monthly 10GB allowance package (was enough for me then) before upgrading to unlimited for 12.49/month (without the phone line). Generally speaking I think it is a good ISP overall. The download speed is fine and connection wise it does not really have problems - just the occasional hiccup which is excusable. I do wish to state that some of the problems were because of the free router supplied with it - utter garbage. I swapped it over with a BT Hub 3 and problems were solved. I also stream gaming sessions online from my PS4 and I have been told that the audio/visual quality is very good from my viewers with no lag. Customer service is decent and generally helpful as well apart from when I asked about Port-Forwarding. In summary, good value for money. 4/5 overall score.

41
21 March 2015
David Pearson

Switched to Plusnet from BT Infinity 2 and the only difference I have seen is a reduction in my monthly payment of &pound;30 for first 6 months and &pound;20 thereafter but with a &pound;50 cashback - effectively giving me 11 months at &pound;30 less than BT.
Speeds comfortably in the high 30s down and mid-teens up.
Switch was a couple of days early so I am one happy customer.

42
18 March 2015
The Threat is Real (UK)

I've been with Plusnet since 2011, they've been comfortably the best provider I've ever had. Was with Virgin before who started well, but descended into being completely disinterested in providing a service.

43
10 March 2015
DC

I have been with Force9 (Plusnet) for 10 years and have had hardly any issues at all. On the few occasions I have phoned their helpline I have been dealt with efficiently and with courtesy. I think it is important to remember that BT owns the infrastructure so some line delays are caused by them. I know BT now owns Plusnet, but they are still run independently.

44
28 February 2015
tb.ray

My dealings with Plusnet have been very good. The staff have a high level of technical knowledge different to the god awful companies who's only aim is to sell their TV rubbish and with respect I include the ladies who again answered my questions with quickly and correctly. No one can be perfect but I am extremely satisfied with their prices and service.

45
20 February 2015
Stephen Meadowcroft

Plusnet are owned by BT... OpenReach are owned by BT... We all know that really we are talking about BT who have a stranglehold on broadband provision in the UK.

I have had a standard broadband connection with Plusnet for some time but in November 2014 Fibre connections began to become available in our area. I applied immediatley to upgrade to the Superfast Service. It is now 20th Feb 2015 and there has been no connection even though OpenReach Engineers have confirmed the line as 'good' from both my home and the Cabinet about 200 metres away. Plusnet keep putting the order in to OpenReach which keeps being rejected automatically.

I have been given every excuse under the sun but still the upgraded service is denied to me even though all my neighbors had it ages ago. All parties seem incapable of communicating either with each other or their customers which is why people seek redress through forums like this. The situation is a virtual monopoly and I have complained to CISAS, my MP, my local council (as commissioners) all to no avail. I wonder how many others are in my predicament? Changing ISP would cost me a lot of money and in any case what guarantee would I have that it would alter the situation?

46
6 February 2015
Tom

I was booked to join Plusnet on the 2nd Feb this year, from Sky, and I have had nothing but problems, no router, faulty cables, changed my phone number. BT engineer fitted modem as ordered, but Plusnet told me I will not have my phone line for 24/48 hours and broadband 2 weeks, but line already to use, but no router. Plusnet's web site did not display right and unable to get into parts to set up emails, etc etc, I have just phoned Sky, and may be going back to them, a devil you know is better than a devil you don't know. If the problems are not sorted over this weekend, good bye Plusnet.

47
6 February 2015
Heather

This has been the worst customer service experience in my life. We signed up for Plusnet on the 12th of January, they have told us every Friday since then that the internet would be connected. I am unable to even talk to anyone, it will take weeks for my partner to make me an authorised caller, just a trick to not provide any service. Now they are saying the 13th of February we will be good to go, although I am not holding my breath. I'm sure this is one of their many lies to appease us. Good luck if have chosen to do business with these incompetent liars.

48
27 January 2015
Tony

Poor customer service. Do not expect any 'customer first' attitude. Online chat can give 100% wrong information with impunity. Plusnet are not to be trusted.

7 February 2015
Tom

I agree.

49
23 January 2015
Richvera

Plusnet is horrible. Every time you want to speak to them, you have to wait at least 30 minutes to get through. We have had 5 (!!) engineers coming to our house (5 days we had to take leave and lost money) and when the 5th one came he was in 5 mintues and did not understand why it was so difficult for the others.

We got some compensation but losing so much time, money and patience is hard to compensate. We waited 2 months on top of the month we already had to wait. My name (girlfriend's) is not on the account but is in the username and I could not change the address, fair enough but when I asked him (after 45min on hold) if he could call my boyfriend 'to confirm' he said that he could not do that. Horrible customer service, again. FInd another company, maybe one that is more expensive because the frustration is really not worth the difference.

50
21 January 2015
Andrew

Speed was always poor and connection erratic. Changed to EE and speed was immediately excellent and connection continuous on same landline etc. Despite excuses and prevarication for over a month, Plusnet now want to penalise me by charging over &pound;50 for cancellation which they intend to take from my credit card without my permission. Be very careful if you deal with this organisation!

51
11 January 2015
purplebus

Afer 12 years of being a Plusnet customer I decided to transfer to a cable ISP to be able to get their TV service. I thought that this would be a simple matter but how wrong I was!!

I telephoned Plusnet cancellation department on the 20th November. I spoke with Sarah, cancelled my account and paid all outstanding bills in full by debit card. Sarah confirmed that my account was closed and that there would be no further contact from Plusnet. A day or so later I cancelled my Direct Debit at my bank.

Sarah's comment was far from correct. Within a few days I received notification from Plusnet that they were to take my monthly payment by Direct Debit. I posted a comment in the Support area of the Plusnet website and in a telephone call was told that the matter would be corrected.

Wrong !! I then received a barrage of texts and emails complaining that they hadn't received my monthly payment. Each time, I posted on the Support pages and telephoned, pointing out that my account was cancelled and I owed no money. Obviously, no one at Plusnet read these comments or took any action to deal with what was happening.

The final straw was when I received a further email threatening me with the news that Plusnet would involve a Debt Collection Agency if my bill was not paid immediately.

So, I telephoned Plusnet again and after hanging on the phone for 32 minutes my call was eventually answered and I was put though to Sam in 'cancellations'. Sam was totally laid back about the situation; describing it as 'a bit of confusion in Plusnet'. He also totally dismissed my suggestion that Plusnet should pay me any compensation in recompense for all the trouble I had had.

He agreed that he would confirm in an email that my account was closed, that no money was outstanding and that there would be no further contact from Plusnet. Not surprisingly, I have not received an email which includes these points.

So, there's my tale of my service experience from Plusnet - as far as I am concerned, I am very pleased to have discontinued my custom of a business that treats its customers in such a shabby way.

52
2 January 2015
carl

I recently joined Plusnet and the service has been brilliant, their call centre staff are always friendly and polite and explain everything clearly. Being of the older generation I tend to struggle with technology on occasions, however when I have struggled, be it navigating the website or general account queries they have always helped me in the best way.

53
23 December 2014
Amanda

We chose Plusnet when moving to our new flat - what a mistake. So far I have found that they haven't kept to a single one of their own (rather generous!) deadlines, constantly blame their suppliers, and have shocking customer service. It is true that you don't get transferred to an Indian call centre where people read from scripts, but from what I've seen this has absolutely no benefit - they have no technical understanding of what is going on and no intention of keeping to any of their promises! A huge huge inconvenience. I really would advise paying a little more and going with another supplier.

54
10 December 2014
bluerose

Plusnet are awful. They mis sold us a phone package and we were charged twice the price of the package we actually signed up for!! After complaint after complaint where we were given no help we gave up and moved companies. I wish we had listened to other reviews and not gone with this company. They refused to give us a refund even though they were clearly in the wrong. Our advice is Avoid avoid avoid!!!

55
8 December 2014
Graham

I've been with Plusnet for two years. They have been excellent throughout. Kept me up to date with texts when I moved to them, have answered any questions I have had swiftly, and text me monthly with my bill. Can't ask more.

56
2 December 2014
Sonia

Plusnet believe that they can use words like 'Unlimited' and 'Anytime' in their marketing and then apply special terms and conditions to these words which - if you're not aware and not careful - lead to unexpected charges.

57
1 December 2014
MJD Pier.

Poor provider. We can be hours without internet connection and we live in the centre of a town. Crackling telephone line making conversations difficult to hear. Plusnet recognise there's a problem with our line as their records show broadband dropping frequently. Have replaced router, filter and leads as they suggested but absolutely no difference has been made. The line is at fault but Plusnet are expert in making the customer feel at fault by emphasising the cost if an engineer comes out. Pity we signed a two year contract back in the spring!

58
30 November 2014
Mike

Seriously Plusnet are rubbish, so were TalkTalk, this whole industry seems to be a disaster. Send smoke signals I reckon.

59
20 November 2014
Canuck Fan

I've literally just migrated across to Plusnet from TalkTalk, I started the process several weeks ago and despite having to wait up to 15 minutes on the phone to get through to their customer service, the migration has been flawless. I was with TalkTalk for 7 years and they gradually increased my monthly charge just for broadband and phone from &pound;16 to &pound;24 per month, they sent me a view box which I didn't ask for and was told would be free, then they put their charges up. I also wasn't happy speaking to somebody in India who I couldn't understand, so I decided it was time to switch, so far so good. Don't be alarmed with the 15 minute wait to get through to customer service as this was no longer than I waited to get through to Talk Talk.

60
28 October 2014
dissatified

We have been without a landline for a month, difficult to contact them, long delays, e-mail response to queries ... your question is "on hold" no response to real questions, no common courtesy or apology. I don't know how they manage this apparently good customer relations!

61
26 October 2014
Liz

Plusnet are by far the best provider I have had they sorted all the problems before I knew there were any. Have just bought a new Smart TV that we could not get to connect to the Internet. Emma from Plusnet was fantastic talked us through it and got us online. Thanks to all at Plusnet.

62
22 October 2014
Kieron

Fantastic service and broadband transferred over a day earlier than they initially promised.. bonus! And to top it off it works out &pound;35 cheaper per month than our old BT Infinity. What more could you ask for. Very happy.

63
10 October 2014
mb

Plusnet is rubbish since I joined them this August. From day one there has been problems with the fibre broadband. After two weeks of no Internet they finally sent an engineer who found out that wrong connections were made in the box outside.
Now the problem has started again. The whole system is rubbish.

4 February 2015
Andyh

But it's BT Openreach that are responsible for the cabling - you cannot blame Plusnet for this...

64
18 August 2014
John

I changed to Plusnet four months ago and have found their service very good. Unlimited broadband with phone, initially the speed was around 4Mb however they resolved the problem quickly and the speed (download) is now 15Mb. No problems with Plusnet, would recommend them.

65
7 August 2014
frankie_b

My experiences with Plusnet have been the exact opposite of the previous poster's. I migrated from BT fibre over to Plusnet fibre a few days ago and the changeover was flawless. What impresses me most about Plusnet is their call center staff. Every time I've spoken with them they have been absolutely great, you won't find them reading from scripts, they get things done and are really friendly. That to me is worth it's weight in gold and something that BT needs to understand. UK customers do not like using overseas call centers.

13 August 2016
mecchat

One wonders why that is?
Seems we're only too happy with the Americanisation of our spellings and inappropriate use of the apostrophe..

21 May 2016
AnneTeak

Haha.. You haven't had the human recorded message employee saying 'You'll have to have an engineer out'... the fault is BT's all the Openreach engineers say it's too mean to repair the lines.

So Plusnet can't do anything, Openreach engineers can't do anything and BT won't pay to modernise... unless you are their customer.

What's the betting Plusnet employees will be absorbed into BT (it's owned by BT now) and Plusnet will go?

29 April 2015
Robert Bishop

I've just had dealings with Plusnet and they were really helpful, polite and seem like they genuinely know what they are talking about! My wifi seemed very intermittent and they ran checks over a period of a week, to see if there was a problem outside the house. There wasn't, so they have suggested things I could do to minimise the slowness of the wifi. Without going into too much detail, there seems to be a fair improvement in performance. We do not have fibre in our region, yet, but when we do, I will have no hesitation but to stay with them when I move over. They're cheap, have great support within the UK and reliable. They are owned by BT, but seem to have quite different priorities.

24 February 2015
dan

You do know BT own Plusnet?

66
5 August 2014
MarkF

Be wary when joining if you ever plan to switch away. I was with Plusnet for many years, decided to switch away, then got 5 emails and a text demanding money after the switch date when I was no longer a customer! Plusnet said they weren't notified of the switch (even though it's automated), so I had to pay for 2 weeks after the switch date and then another 2 weeks after that to cover "notice" which they already should have had from the automated switch-over, then pay &pound;30 fee because the new provider "wasn't on their network". None of this is clear or fair, but it's all buried in the T&amp;Cs so you're stuffed. All that money and years of being a Plusnet customer and then they get you for a few pounds if you try and leave. I've put in a complaint and another to Ofcom. Shameful.

4 January 2016
whack-a-mole

Men in suits are what is wrong with the world. They'll shaft you and yours any which way they can.

20 April 2015
Stuart

Lack of knowledge on your part, but you can't see that so blame anyone but yourself and no I don't work for Plusnet. What do you expect switching without even bothering to let them know, of course they are going to bill you.

17 February 2015
Andrew Peake

My father is in the same boat with them. Please tell me if your complaint with Ofcom got anywhere?

67
2 June 2014
Cliff

Since I changed to Plusnet Fibre I have been very pleased with the service.

68
30 April 2014
Brady

Whilst some people seem to have only negative things to say about Plusnet, my experience has only been exemplary. I have been with them since 2004 and have had several different price plans including a price match when I asked them to match what Sky was offering at that particular time. Once I had a slow connection, I phoned them and quite literally they had the newest router to me with new telephone 'thingies' within 36 hours and phoned me to see if I was happy, now that is service!
I have now just ordered fibre optic from them, and I have an engineer coming within the week, I received the new router 5 days after ringing no hassle.
They answer the phone quickly, which you know is in the UK, and are polite and helpful.

69
18 March 2014
ezygeeza

Plusnet home move is extortion. Wish I'd never heard of them!

Unfortunately moving home with Plusnet is a cost option as you are threatened with losing all discounts.

The alternative is to pay extra per month and extend your contract for 24 months.

" Thank you for your call today.
As discussed, if you wish to cancel your account we will require 2 weeks notice and the cancellation fees are applicable.
Alternatively there are 3 options available to you:
12 month contract: We will move the service free of charge but you will lose your discounts
18 month contract: Same as above
24 month contract: We will move the service free of charge and the monthly cost of Unlimited will be &pound;5.99 per month.

Kind regards, "

70
9 March 2014
Marc

I have been with Plusnet for approx 2 years, I have had 1 or 2 minor problems but these have been sorted out in no time at all.

Anytime I have spoken to customer services they have been incredibly polite and knowledgeable, I could not rate them highly enough.

I pay for their 'up to 16Mb' service and receive approx 19.5Mbps downloads.

By comparison, I had my phone and broadband supplied by Sky for 2 years, I was plagued with problems and their Customer Services were awful.

I was paying for their up to 8Mb service and received, on average, 0.5Mbps and 0.75Mbps.

19 October 2016
Simon Cat Parnell

Plusnet, I pay for 17mb and get 9mb, I pay for 2mb upload and get 0.6mb. And the connection fails every day.

24 January 2017
P$

That's because it's "upto" on ADSL 2+ depending on how far you are from the cabinet and the cabinet from the exchange.

71
27 January 2014
Alchy

I love this review, and am thinking of jumping the good ship BT, but the comments below pretty much scare the life outta me!

18 July 2014
secretagentmole

Dont jump, BT own Plusnet!

72
23 January 2014
Deborah

I am sorry I chose Plusnet. Very dependant on BT who failed to come once and then came in the morning for an afternoon appointment. No comeback for me having to take three mornings/afternoons off work. Be very warned.

21 May 2016
AnneTeak

Same here.

31 May 2014
Townman

Of course they are dependent on "BT" just like every other ISP because "BT" supply the wires!

4 January 2016
whack-a-mole

Virgin don't rely on BT. Their broadband does not require a phone line.

30 November 2016
David Peter Winder

That's not true , not all Virgin internet is their own cable, 65% is the other 35% isn't ,it's BT

24 January 2017
P$

Erm no. Virgin ditched their Internet service over ADSL a long time ago. Today it's On net or no net.

73
17 January 2014
Alex

Hi People, you need to put them in to context with the other suppliers, are any of the suppliers perfect -- No! I've used Plusnet for my home since 2005 until 2009 where I switched to O2 and then this time last year, March 2012, switched back to Plusnet then in May had issues which they got BT to resolve within 2 weeks. I had internet issues in my last house and again they sorted fairly quickly paying for the expense of a BT engineer to fix, hence why I return to them I know their support is good. My father has a business and he has three suppliers, EE, Orange and Virgin Media, and I find their customer service is sub standard compared to Plusnet. By the way I've also used BT again I found their service sub-standard compared to Plusnet, even though they bought them out. I can talk technical which you will find helps enormously when dealing with broadband providers as you can get straight to the issue so out of the six providers when you tell them straight the problem both O2 and Plusnet will get the problem resolved. Of course O2 broadband is now defunct. Other suppliers you have to cover the same ground over and over again to get the issue resolved. I strongly recommend Plusnet as one of the better suppliers out there as none of them are perfect.

74
8 January 2014
stp

Promised fibre waited in all day for an engineer not to show, to then be told as they didn't place the order on time with openreach I missed out, even though my neighbours who placed their order 3 days after with a different company got it fine.

75
2 January 2014
johnonthe4thbend

I had really good reviews from friends who were with Plusnet. We were moving and I specifically asked when I signed up how fast they were with their house move service. I mistakenly signed up and finally moved in December. I contacted them 2 weeks before the move to be told they would carry out the phone connection first and the broadband would follow in 5 working days. The phone connection took 3 days (something to do with having to wait for a stop notice to expire) the broadband finally got (sort of) sorted today - 2 January. Like Barrie Nott below, I have become annoyed waiting and phoned to cancel. They swung the lead to extend answering my request until the 14 day cooling off period had expired on the new contract and the annual bulk line rental payment I also took out. Now they say I have no alternative but to lose my payment and pay extra for the contract to be terminated early. I only found out they were owned by BT during this. I left BT due to their incompetence long ago. Looks like I now have another 2 years of this to go. Happy New Year everyone.

76
2 January 2014
david.w

WARNING
We were in the process of changing to Plusnet, but the internet indicated &pound;9.50 pm. for our postcode, rather than the &pound;2.50 introductory offer. When we checked with them on the phone, we were told that it was FROM &pound;2.50 pm and that did not apply. When we added the various extras, it was so close to the BT contract, that it wasn't worth changing. We have had good service from BT, although Yorkshire accents may have been easier to understand than their Indian ones, so in view of the comments on Plusnet's service, perhaps we had better stick with BT.

77
11 October 2013
J1 Phantom

I'm moving out soon and thinking of going for their Fibre Unlimited. What with all the gaming and streaming that I do it seems like the best option for me.

78
24 September 2013
Mark

I made the dreadful mistake of choosing Plusnet to supply us - they have been absolutely useless beyond belief. Our phone and broadband was booked in for 1st August and we currently have neither working and don't even have an engineer coming for another 4 days... that's over 8 weeks since the installation date!! Can you imagine 8 weeks without phone or internet?! Every time you phone them (because they never phone you) it's excuses and never so much as an apology for the massive inconvenience caused. They really have perfected the "couldn't care less" attitude. The last attempt to book an engineer resulted in me wasting 5 hours of my weekend sat waiting for an engineer who didn't turn up - it turned out Plusnet hadn't actually booked the appointment properly despite 2 phone calls and an email to confirm it was booked. They then emailed to say they would "be in touch as soon as they can" - I heard nothing again for 3 days and have had to phone to chase them again. Their service is non-existent and I can honestly say they are the worst company I have ever EVER had to deal with. I cannot recommend strongly enough they you do not touch these people with a barge pole. Not even someone else's barge pole.

24 May 2017
Stuart Mort

I've been with PlusNet since I was 18 and living with my mum, now 32 with my own place. Same account - Never ever had an issue with them or their service, including 2 house moves and numerous upgrades, including recently to Fibre.

People saying go and look at all the complaints, you won't find much else on any providers website. Everyone complains, no-one praises when it just works - hard fact.

2 December 2016
StanLee

Not my experience at all. Been with PlusNet for four or five years after getting tired of BT's silly policies, download limits and high fees. PlusNet have provided my home phone and ADSL broadband with only a few outages and generally good service. Whenever contacted for assistance when, say, there is an outage, the rep's have been helpful. Had an issue with original Technicolor Router which they replaced pronto and they are now sending me their latest Router free of charge. Given many websites throttle downloads etc. speed above 8mbps are a waste of time for me so quite content with the 6mbps I get. The Router is very basic however could be seriously improved.
Overall would recommend for budget provider of basic broadband.

25 October 2016
caravanj

Plusnet have no control over line installations as they're all done by Openreach!!!!!!!!!!
We went with Plusnet when we moved to a new build house &amp; were given an activation date which Plusnet couldn't keep to because the builders hadn't installed a landline cable from the Openreach junction box to our house - so hardly the fault of Plusnet.
We have been with Plusnet for 2.5 years &amp; we'll be staying with them as the service has been excellent with no faults or any need to contact them apart to check on upgrades &amp; we'll be taking their YouView TV package.

1 September 2016
Gaz

I have had the same experience with Plusnet or nonet, as we know they were due to change to plusnet on 11/08/16, got an email saying go live date put back to 22/08/16. Tried to set up my router and nothing, rang them and waited in a que for 20 minutes and they said it would be on within the hour. Here I am now about 10 phone calls later and lots of angry e-mails and still nothing and have been without any internet for the last 2 weeks, DO NOT JOIN THESE USELESS BUNCH OF EXCUSE MAKERS. They continue to blame their provider BT openreach but they are part of BT. Not good.

12 February 2015
Plusnet victim

Have to agree, they seem to have a back office manned by monkeys. They have no regard for their customers. They accused me of lying to them - I finally got them to listen to the recorded calls, proving me right. It took 3 weeks + to get my phone and broadband working and my upgrade to fibre has left me with a slower broadband speed than before.
Grade A idiots.

30 November 2014
mike

PS TalkTalk were no better!

9 December 2014
Dhep

I went from TalkTalk to Plusnet, they are certainly worse than TalkTalk.

1 March 2015
Julie W

I'm looking to change as my TalkTalk contract is up at the end of this month. In what way are Plusnet worse? I am trying to decide between Plusnet and Sky (just basic broadband, not fibre, and no TV package etc.) My main problem with TalkTalk has been speed and loss of signal, and can't get a wi-fi signal upstairs. Would welcome opinions on Sky and Plusnet concerning these points. Thanks :-)

22 September 2017
Barry Granda Smith

I asked Openreach engineers which one I should go for and two of them said Plusnet.

8 March 2015
Mattspeech

I'm in the same boat, I'm with TalkTalk and leaving due to poor signal. I'm tempted to use Plusnet...or BT.

12 March 2015
Tony

Don't use Plusnet, trust me you will regret it, I have been with them over 1 year, I cannot wait for my contract to end, I am gone then.

12 December 2015
Westkent

Give us a reason then Tony.

4 January 2016
whack-a-mole

Luther Vandross?

Some folk just get a bee in their bonnet over the most trivial of situations and once hate rears it's ugly head...

I'm just about to order my Plusnet package and give BT a kick to the kerb. The only good thing about BT is free bt sport and also the btfon wifi.

5 June 2016
Sarah

Plusnet is BT.

79
21 September 2013
Alan Thorburn

BT gives me BT Sport 1 &amp; 2, FREE !

24 November 2014
Joser

Plusnet gave me free BT Sport 1 &amp; 2 and ESPN with HD, but only after the suggestion of migration to BT. Great customer service from the BT owned company. Unlimited Fibre far too dear but a necessity these days for film download and gaming!

80
16 June 2013
Andy Swain

I've been with Force9, which is now Plusnet, since the modem age of 240bps, which is nearly 14 years now. To date I've not had a problem, well if I had would I still be here after this length of time? There was a small hiccup when they moved to the BT backbone but every problem that has ever arisen has always been sorted. I must admit the support does seem to have lost its personal touch from the days of Force9. I can remember the middle of the night I had a problem and the guy stopped on the phone for well over 30 minutes until we got it sorted. So all I can give them is praise. I admit I'm still on a very old package, I bet its possibly 4-5 years old as the off peak runs from 12midnight to 4pm the following afternoon, which is the only reason I have not switched to fibre optic as yet. And the fact that I've been with them so long I get a fair discount on my broadband package. So yes Plusnet has been kind and has a great history as far as I am concerned, and would recommend them to anyone. Andy.

81
5 April 2013
paul

The wireless is terrible and I only get 0.245Mb pathetic. I have had 2 routers, was told by one of the engineers that the person that sent these should have known that was not the problem. Wonder if they actually read the history and look at what I have already done half a dozen times. Unplug, fit new filter, try ethernet cable, changing channels etc. give it a break and do your job. Have now had an Openreach engineer apparently fix a fault on the line. The support team also say, it could take up to 10 days for the broadband to stabilise. Pity they did not have the manners to contact me. Amazing how the money keeps coming out the bank, but no service in return. Please do not be fooled by their cheap prices.

82
3 March 2013
Ben

Still waiting, considering cancelling. I started trying to buy broadband from Plusnet in December 2012 it is now March 2013 and I'm considering whether I ought to bother booking another half day from work for a second attempt at line fitting or cancel.

To be fair the line connection errors have been Openreach so Plusnet haven't had a chance to mess up their provision yet but having read what others have to say I am now apprehensive.

Also after signing up they cancelled and remade my order when I rang to investigate/complain I became aware that even though I'd called the same number as before I was being presented with a different menu and much longer wait time. I hung up, went in to settings on my phone and withheld my number and called back... I got the original menu also answered in less than a minute. That's right, once they have your money they save your number and divert you to a lower priority service that regularly interrupts the music (usually Reverend &amp; The Makers - Heavyweight Champion Of The World) to tell you in a friendly northern accent how much they "value your custom" and how "sorry they are to keep you waiting"... freeing up more of their staff to sign up more people and create a bigger backlog of unhappy customers for their poor complaints staff to deal with.

I have found all staff to be very friendly and helpful but they seem to be the interface for a woefully lacking system. They have offered me a 50% refund on line installation but they are simply passing that on from Openreach.

83
1 February 2012
Matt

I've been with Plusnet for around 6 months on DSL, and have recently decided to upgrade to fibre with them. So far the line, service and support from them has been excellent. Reading some of the other comments here it's obvious that they aren't providing a perfect service for everyone. But just from personal experience I'd highly recommend them.

24 January 2015
chaos

I agree, I have been with Plusnet for well over 9 years and found their customer service second to none. I will in the very near future upgrade to fibre with no hesitation. My daughter is also a Plusnet customer. She has had problems, but Plusnet are doing everything they can to sort them. I am confident they will sort her problem out. If people don`t want to go with Plusnet fine, their choice. And i am a genuine Plusnet customer.

84
23 January 2012
tony

I've been with Plusnet for nine months now, they charge you for calls you don't make and the speed varies throughout the evenings. Uploading is a joke!

BT all the way, I shouldn't of ever changed, can't wait till my twelve months are over.

85
28 November 2011
Barrie Nott

I gave Plusnet 2 weeks notice regarding moving house, requesting they transfer their service to my new house. The phone worked on the right day, but no broadband as they had not put the order in to their supplier. There would be a delay of 7-10 days. The supplier's website was down so there was another delay over a weekend. The order has now been put in - another delay of 7-10 days. An hour ago the telephone went dead. Draw your own conclusions.

86
24 November 2011
Richard

I had Plusnet for 2 years before moving in Dec 2010 due to the end of a tenancy. Plusnet agreed to move the service to my new property for free but said they would charge if I moved again.

I had no option but to agree as I was moving to a property for 6 months to do up and sell. When I sold the property and moved again Plusnet charged me the &pound;65 moving fee and cessation. With these costs included they are not cheap.

24 November 2014
Joser

Seems fair to me that you are charged if you keep moving.

87
2 November 2011
Mike

I joined Plusnet (Metronet) in 2005. For six and a half years, I have been mostly happy with the Yorkshire guys on service and friendly/efficient support.

But two problems - VoIP (Skype) up to 2 seconds transmission delay a few years ago - I blamed this on their BT ownership and told Skype this many times. Eventually Skype sorted this problem with Plusnet and my Skype calls are now mostly OK.

My current problem is still not sorted out though. After Plusnet 'reminded' me about their Pro service for &pound;5 per month extra, news videos (eg. <a href="http://disq.us/url?url=http%3A%2F%2Fsmh.com.au%3A3j02EiVplMplr2EHcL1qD8jNlbk&amp;cuid=2412393" rel="nofollow noopener" title="smh.com.au">smh.com.au</a>) and websites with high image content (eg <a href="http://disq.us/url?url=http%3A%2F%2Fjohnlewis.com%3AruFEwyYkytI66-AL0J91cPUox5k&amp;cuid=2412393" rel="nofollow noopener" title="johnlewis.com">johnlewis.com</a>) suddenly became impossible to enjoy. Videos keep pausing because the streaming is too slow and website pages with several images can take a couple of minutes to refresh. I am finally looking for a new ISP that will provide me with acceptable bandwidth, even if the monthly charge is higher than Plusnet's &pound;6.49p.

28 December 2013
Masum

EE is fab - I pay &pound;2.50 unlimited - can watch 1080p movies and play games without any issue.

7 February 2015
ron

Most people don't realise that 80% of problems with Plusnet comes from the failure of Open Reach in maintaining and improving the line that they ( BT ) rent to Plusnet. I've started calling them Beyond Reach now due to their failure to support their engineers in doing their job. I've had a long running fault for nearly 6 months and Plusnet have been doing their best but have been let down on nearly every ocassion by demoralised Open Reach ( BT ) Engineers and their policy that they only guarantee the Phone connection but not the broadband! As is mostly on the old copper lines. If you're going to continue to sell it why not improve it instead of paying fat cat dividends and bonuses!

28 March 2017
Fin Cool

Actually BT pay crap dividends and the share price is going south to boot.
Get your facts right.

88
19 October 2011
sinead

I'm with Plusnet and my home landline has a credit limit of &pound;55 (don't know why, I didn't ask for this) but when I reach this my outgoing calls are cut off and I am forced to pay a minimum of &pound;9 to be reconnected only to then be asked to put credit on for the rest of the month in order to use my phone (like a mobile). This would be ok but this money does not come off my existing bill so, in essence, I am paying for those calls twice and all because they have imposed a credit limit on my calls monthly.

89
29 July 2011
Jason Clark

Plusnet's service started out alright but then on evenings it got slower and slower to the point of freezing, then dropping our connection all the time. They blame BT's local exchange and keep giving us updates but nothing has changed. The Isle of Dogs area hasn't sprung up overnight and stretched their capacity but they just don't care and there's no compensation.

90
14 July 2011
Lorna Clark

I can honestly say their service is pretty good but please do not get trapped into a business contract with them. They keep on changing the dates you can leave and every time you get to the date they said you can cancel your contract, they move the goalpost. I am seriously thinking of just paying the &pound;126 I owe them to make sure that they can't do it again. I really want out but can never seem to do it.

91
4 July 2011
Kayley

If you read on their T&amp;C page, there is a &pound;30 'cessation fee'. A bit naughty if like me, you are interested in NOT having a 12 month contract to tie you down (especially in case the service is not good).

4 July 2011
Choose team

The &pound;30 'cessation charge' (&pound;25 if you signed up before 15th April 2010) is levied only if customers require a full line stop. In the vast majority of cases when you leave you'll request a MAC code to sign up with another provider in which case there's no cessation charge.

Like most broadband providers, Plusnet charge you for the remainder of your 12 months contract if you leave before those 12 months are up. After the first 12 months, Plusnet customers are put on a rolling 30-day contract.

Unlike most broadband providers, new Plusnet customers can choose the 30-day contract option on sign up but that means there'll be a &pound;25 activation charge and no free router.

Hope this helps.

92
21 June 2011
Laura

I've had a really good experience with Plusnet so far. I've been with them for a year and have never had any problems, their customer service advisors are really friendly and efficient and I have absolutely no reason to complain! (The price really helps, too!)


» Read more of the latest news


» Search for more guides on broadband and mobile


Follow us or subscribe for FREE updates and special offers