TalkTalk Broadband Review

Last updated: 15 January 2024   By Dr Lucy Brown, Editor

TalkTalk broadband offers low-cost fibre deals that are also fast, utilising both the Openreach and CityFibre networks.

TalkTalk offer fast broadband deals with the latest routers, along with an Ultra HD TV add-on.

Price:

Gold star Gold star Gold star Gold star

Speed:

Gold star Gold star Gold star Gold star

Reliability:

Gold star Gold star Gold star Gold star

Customer Service:

Gold star Gold star Gold star

TalkTalk have moved away from their budget broadband roots, instead choosing to focus on providing the latest technology and fast download speeds.

Full fibre broadband deals come with an Amazon eero WiFi 6 router and operate on either the Openreach or CityFibre fibre-to-the-premises networks.

Customers can also choose to add TalkTalk TV, an Ultra HD set-top box with exclusive discounts on NOW Memberships for large screen viewing.


At a glance

Price From £28
Setup cost £4.95
Minimum term 24 months
Out of contract price From £28 after 24 months
Annual price increase CPI + 3.7% in April
Broadband connection Copper, fibre, full fibre
Download speeds 11Mb, 38Mb, 67Mb, 77Mb, 152Mb, 525Mb, 944Mb
Upload speeds 1Mb, 9Mb, 17Mb, 20Mb, 30Mb, 72Mb, 110Mb
Router WiFi Hub Black or Amazon eero 6
WiFi guarantee Total Home WiFi
Parental controls TalkTalk HomeSafe
Home phone With copper and part-fibre only
Anytime calls From £12 (inc. UK mobiles)
TV Optional: TalkTalk TV

Latest offers

Offer Terms

TalkTalk full fibre broadband from just £28 per month for months.

24 month minimum term. £4.95 setup fee. Monthly price will rise annually by CPI + 3.7% in April.


NOW Entertainment just £4.99 a month for 12 months with TalkTalk TV and broadband

24 month minimum term on broadband (required). Monthly-rolling contract on TV.


TalkTalk broadband customer reviews

Our independent survey of broadband customers found TalkTalk was rated 4 out of 5 overall, with good ratings for Value for Money, Speed, Reliability, and Satisfaction.

TalkTalk was rated average (3 out of 5) for customer service, but good (4 out of 5) for likelihood for customers to recommend them to a friend.

Here are the full results of the TalkTalk survey:

5 out of 5 4 out of 5 3 out of 5 2 out of 5 1 out of 5
Value for money 15% 37% 31% 7% 11%
Speed 17% 34% 30% 13% 7%
Reliability 25% 34% 22% 10% 9%
Satisfaction 24% 35% 24% 9% 10%
Customer Service 12% 29% 34% 12% 14%
Likelihood to Recommend 17% 32% 28% 9% 15%

Want to review your provider?

Whether you're a customer of TalkTalk broadband or another provider, you can submit a review of your provider by clicking through to the form below.


Our review of TalkTalk broadband

Pros Cons
Faster than average download speeds Full fibre plans have no home phone option
Full fibre plans come with a WiFi 6 router Prices can be beaten by other providers
Optional TV service with exclusive discounts Customer service needs improvements
Wide availability across both Openreach and CityFibre TV and Home WiFi add-ons only available in Openreach enabled areas

Verdict: Is TalkTalk broadband any good?

While TalkTalk is no longer the budget provider they were once well-known for, and prices are more towards the middle of the market, they remain a good choice for those looking for fast speeds and the latest router.

Their partnership with both Openreach and CityFibre to deliver full fibre to the premises broadband means they're available to more homes than rivals BT and Sky.

We also like the fact they offer a WiFi 6 enabled mesh router to all 100Mb+ full fibre customers, and those taking the fastest Full Fibre 900 plan get two WiFi 6 tri-band mesh routers included at no extra cost.

Households with a love for online streaming are also well catered for, with the TalkTalk TV service offering exclusive discounts on Sky content through NOW Memberships and bundling the NOW Boost add-on within the standard monthly fee.

However, questions remain over the provider's customer service, with high complaints figures despite recent assurance from TalkTalk themselves that internal data shows improvements.


TalkTalk broadband packages

Summary: TalkTalk offer a full fibre first approach, with customers in full fibre enabled areas only able to sign up to full fibre packages.

TalkTalk offer competitively priced broadband with up to date technology, with all their full fibre customers being provided with WiFi 6 enabled routers.

Customers can choose from superfast fibre or ultrafast full fibre to the home connections depending on what's available in their area.

Package Broadband Monthly price Upfront price Contract term
Fibre 35 38Mb average £28 £4.95 24 months
Fibre 65 67Mb average £29 £4.95 24 months
Full Fibre 150 152Mb average £32 £4.95 24 months
offer Offer: Free P&P
Full Fibre 500 525Mb average £39 £4.95 24 months
offer Offer: Free P&P
Full Fibre 900 944Mb average £49 £4.95 24 months
offer Offer: Free P&P

TalkTalk Fibre 35 and Fibre 65 are available to around 97% of homes across the UK. However, where customers live in a full fibre enabled area, they won't be able to choose these plans and will have to opt for a full fibre connection instead.

For households on a budget however, there is a Full Fibre 65 option available, which costs just £28 per month - the same as the superfast Fibre 65 package.

Those wanting faster broadband speeds who have full fibre available to them can choose from Fibre 150, Fibre 500, and Fibre 900 deals, with top speeds of 944Mbps on average.

Minimum contract terms are 24 months across all packages, and TalkTalk do implement annual price rises of Consumer Price Index (CPI) + 3.7% each year in April.

Full fibre first

As mentioned, TalkTalk operate on a 'full fibre first' basis, which means where customers live in a full fibre to the premises (FTTP) enabled area, they'll only be able to sign up for those deals.

The top tier gigabit broadband plan was first launched in November 2021, and offers average download speeds of 944Mbps at peak times. That makes it one of the UK's fastest widely available broadband plans. It also comes bundled with two routers and a free whole home WiFi guarantee.

For cheaper prices, customers can also opt for Full Fibre 150, Full Fibre 500, or the cheapest full fibre plan Full Fibre 65. Each of these packages, aside from Full Fibre 65, come with an Amazon eero router, which supports the latest WiFi 6 protocol.

So far around 15.1 million premises are covered by TalkTalk full fibre, but that figure is rapidly growing as the fibre networks continue to expand.

Customers who can't even access superfast fibre, which is now only around 3% of the UK, can still get broadband with TalkTalk, but average download speeds are just 11Mbps.

While TalkTalk still offer a copper broadband connection, only those who live outside a fibre to the cabinet, or full fibre, area will be able to sign up to it.

To find out exactly what's available to you, use our postcode search on the TalkTalk deals page.

Fixed price promise

TalkTalk moved from fixed prices to contractual annual price rises in March 2021, and implemented an increase of CPI + 3.7% to all plans.

While annual price rises on broadband has now become fairly commonplace, TalkTalk blamed unprecedented demand and investment in their network for the change. Although they've also recently blamed Ofcom for allowing wholesale broadband prices to increase by CPI each year too.

However, they've continued to occasionally offer a 'Fixed Price Plus' add-on, where customers can pay a little more each month to lock in fixed prices on their contract.

At the time of writing, Fixed Price Plus isn't currently available, although when it is offered it costs £4 per month, up from £2 per month last year, so value for money has declined despite inflation also decreasing.

Fixed Price Plus, when available, can be difficult to recommend due to the somewhat complex calculations to figure out whether it'll offer value for money, and the issues around predicting inflation at the next annual price rise.


TalkTalk broadband and TV

Summary: TalkTalk broadband customers can bundle an Ultra HD TV service for just £5 extra a month.

TalkTalk TV is only available to customers who take a superfast fibre or full fibre broadband package in an Openreach enabled area.

It costs £5 per month, which includes the Ultra HD set-top box as well as a free subscription to NOW Boost. Customers also get access to some exclusive discounts on NOW and Netflix.

Package Broadband Monthly price Upfront price Contract term
TV Hub + Fibre 65 67Mb average £34 £4.95 24 months
offer Offer: NOW Entertainment just £4.99 for 12 months (was £9.99) + NOW Boost free
TV Hub + Full Fibre 150 152Mb average £37 £4.95 24 months
offer Offer: NOW Entertainment just £4.99 for 12 months (was £9.99) + NOW Boost free + Free P&P
TV Hub + Full Fibre 500 525Mb average £44 £4.95 24 months
offer Offer: NOW Entertainment just £4.99 for 12 months (was £9.99) + NOW Boost free + Free P&P
TV Hub + Full Fibre 900 944Mb average £54 £4.95 24 months
offer Offer: NOW Entertainment just £4.99 for 12 months (was £9.99) + NOW Boost free + Free P&P

TalkTalk TV offers access to over 70 Freeview channels, the ability to pause and rewind live TV, and access to a range of on-demand apps, including Netflix, NOW, Amazon Prime Video, TNT Sports, BBC iPlayer, YouTube and more.

All customers are now provided with the new Android-powered TV Hub, which offers access to over 10,000 apps via the Google Play Store.

TalkTalk also used to offer a 4K Netgem box, but this now seems to have been replaced by the TV Hub, although older customers may still have this platform.

Read more about the TV Hub and the TalkTalk TV packages in our main guide.


How does TalkTalk broadband compare?

Summary: TalkTalk isn't a budget provider anymore, with prices more around the middle of the market.

While TalkTalk is often thought of as a budget provider, they've since moved out of that space to focus on offering faster broadband deals with better quality routers.

As such, their prices are now around the middle of the market, and they're not one of the cheapest broadband providers anymore.

Package Broadband Monthly price Upfront price Contract term
Fibre 65 67Mb average £29 £4.95 24 months
Fibre 2 67Mb average £25 Free 24 months
offer Offer: £3 off for Vodafone pay monthly customers
Fibre 66Mb average £25.99 Free 24 months
offer Offer: Save over £4/mth + No setup fee + Exclusive offers and discounts for Plusnet customers (Ends 28/02/2024)
Superfast Broadband 61Mb average £27 £5 18 months
offer Offer: Save £7.50/mth (was £34.50) + WiFi Max just £6.50/mth (was £10/mth) + (£5 refundable setup fee for new customers if applicable)

For superfast fibre, TalkTalk's Fibre 65 plan is cheaper than an equivalent package from BT, but it's more expensive than similar deals from Sky, Plusnet and Vodafone.

TalkTalk Fibre 65 is also marginally more expensive than the equivalent package from Shell Energy Broadband, who resell TalkTalk's network on a wholesale basis.

Looking at full fibre broadband deals, TalkTalk are again priced around the middle of the market.

Package Broadband Monthly price Upfront price Contract term
Full Fibre 150 152Mb average £32 £4.95 24 months
offer Offer: Free P&P
Full Fibre 145 145Mb average £26.99 Free 24 months
offer Offer: Save over £13/mth + No setup fee + Exclusive offers and discounts for Plusnet customers (Ends 28/02/2024)
Ultrafast Broadband 145Mb average £28 £5 18 months
offer Offer: Save £10/mth (was £38) + WiFi Max just £6.50/mth (was £10/mth) + (£5 refundable setup fee for new customers if applicable)
Full Fibre 100 150Mb average £29.99 Free 24 months
offer Offer: £50 BT Virtual Reward Card + Save £8/mth (was £37.99) and free setup was (£31.99) (Ends 29/02/2024)

TalkTalk's Full Fibre 150 is their entry-level full fibre deal, and it's currently priced around the same as Sky and BT, while Plusnet and Vodafone offer cheaper deals.

However, TalkTalk Full Fibre 150 comes with an Amazon eero 6 router, which supports the latest WiFi 6 protocol. BT, Sky, Plusnet and Vodafone all still provide WiFi 5 routers on their cheapest plans.

Overall, while TalkTalk have increased their price over recent years, they've also begun offering customers more advanced equipment, as well as faster average download speeds by partnering with more wholesale fibre networks.


How fast is TalkTalk broadband?

Summary: TalkTalk offers broadband speed choices from superfast to gigabit-capable plans with the second fastest widely available download speed.

Broadband speeds available with TalkTalk vary depending on a customer's location. Superfast deals cover around 97% of UK homes, while ultrafast and gigabit options are available to over 15.1 million premises so far.

Superfast plans include download speeds of 38Mbps and 67Mbps on average at peak times, while full fibre options include speeds of 152Mbps, 525Mbps, and 944Mbps.

Average download speed Average upload speed
Fibre 35 38Mbps 9Mbps
Fibre 65 67Mbps 17Mbps
Full Fibre 150 152Mbps 30Mbps
Full Fibre 500 525Mbps 72Mbps
Full Fibre 900 944Mbps 110Mbps

Advertised average speeds must be received by at least 50% of a provider's customer base during the peak hours of 8pm to 10pm at night when the network is busiest. So, we know the majority of customers actually get these speeds.

TalkTalk's average download speeds are faster than many of its rivals, with their Fibre 900 plan offering 944Mbps, which is one of the fastest widely available download speeds, after Virgin Media's Gig1 plan which offers 1130Mbps speeds.

Back in 2019, TalkTalk increase the average download speeds on its superfast fibre plans from 36Mbps to 38Mbps, and from 63Mbps to 67Mbps. So, even on older fibre to the cabinet deals, TalkTalk's average download speeds are often faster than equivalent packages from other providers.

TalkTalk's upload speeds are more in line with the competition, roughly sitting equal to competitors including Sky, Plusnet, and BT. And, as with other Openreach full fibre plans, uploads are faster with TalkTalk than with Virgin Media.

Minimum speed guarantee

As well as offering more actual headline speeds, TalkTalk also provide customers with estimated speeds for their individual property, and a guaranteed minimum speed which their connection shouldn't go below.

Estimated download speed Minimum guaranteed speed
Fibre 35 36 - 37Mbps 35Mbps
Fibre 65 72.2 - 73.6Mbps 68Mbps
Full Fibre 150 150 - 153Mbps 120Mbps
Full Fibre 500 517 - 526Mbps 440Mbps
Full Fibre 900 875 - 948Mbps 725Mbps

* Estimated and minimum speeds may vary depending on location.

These estimated speeds and minimum guaranteed speeds work in conjunction with Ofcom's code of practice on broadband speeds.

This code, which TalkTalk has signed up to, means if a customer's download speed drops below the minimum speed promised at the time of sign up for 3 consecutive days or more, and the provider doesn't resolve the issue within 30 days of being notified, the customer is free to leave their contract early and without penalty.

However, this is really just a guarantee, with the majority of customers receiving the faster average download speeds.


Total Home WiFi

Summary: TalkTalk offer a whole home WiFi guarantee to full fibre broadband customers, with Full Fibre 900 including it for free.

Total Home WiFi is TalkTalk's whole home WiFi guarantee that full fibre broadband customers can add to their package as an add-on.

The add-on costs £6 per month and includes one extra Amazon eero router to boost coverage and wireless speeds around a home.

While Total Home WiFi is available with TalkTalk Full Fibre 150 and Full Fibre 500 packages, customers taking Full Fibre 900 will get it included as standard for free. However, only customers living in an Openreach enabled area can get the add-on, as it's not available in CityFibre areas.

The WiFi guarantee promises that a Total Home Coverage with minimum wireless download speeds of 10Mbps is achieved. If customers don't achieve that, TalkTalk will send out an engineer, and if that doesn't help, customers can cancel the add-on without paying any early termination charges.

It's not the best whole home WiFi guarantee on the market, but the Amazon eero is an up to date router, supporting the latest WiFi 6 protocol.


Router

Summary: TalkTalk fibre customers get the older WiFi Hub Black, while full fibre customers get the latest Amazon eero 6.

Customers who sign up to TalkTalk Fibre 35, Fibre 65, or Full Fibre 65 will be sent the TalkTalk WiFi Hub.

This router offers WiFi 5 support, with dual-band wireless channels. It's a decent router that was released only in early 2020, so is more than adequate for superfast connections.

talktalk wifi hub black

The one downside to the WiFi Hub is that it doesn't support mesh, and so there is no WiFi guarantee or extenders available to increase coverage.

TalkTalk customers who take one of the full fibre broadband packages; Full Fibre 150, Full Fibre 500 and Full Fibre 900 will be sent an Amazon eero.

Full Fibre 150 customers get the Amazon eero 6 which supports WiFi 6, the latest protocol, and offers dual-band wireless channels with support for mesh.

amazon eero 6 router

Full Fibre 500 and Full Fibre 900 customers get a slightly more powerful eero Pro 6, which offers WiFi 6 with tri-band wireless channels. Full Fibre 900 customers get two of these routers, while Full Fibre 500 customers would have to sign up to Total Home WiFi to get an additional device to boost coverage even further.

The specifications of the routers from TalkTalk are:

WiFi Hub Black Amazon eero 6
Wi-Fi technology Dual band Dual band
Wi-Fi Standard Wi-Fi 5 Wi-Fi 6
Security WPA2 WPA3
Ethernet 4x Gigabit Ethernet LAN 2x Gigabit Ethernet LAN/WAN
Other ports 1x Gigabit WAN, 1x RJ11 xDSL None
WPS Enabled Yes No

While the Amazon eero's have less wired ethernet LAN ports, the wireless signal itself should be better, which means less devices really need a wired connection.

However, that said, customers on fast gigabit packages should aware the fastest speeds are only achieved through a wired connection. So, the lack of ethernet ports may be frustrating for some users.


Home phone

Summary: A home phone is still an option for superfast customers, but TalkTalk full fibre plans are now data-only lines.

Only TalkTalk broadband customers who sign up to a basic copper, superfast fibre, or G.Fast fibre plan will get a home phone line and have the option of adding a call package.

TalkTalk customers who sign up to full fibre broadband will get a data-only line, with no option to add a home phone or calls package.

This approach is in line with other providers such as Plusnet, however customers living in full fibre enabled areas who want a home phone will have to look at providers like Sky or BT instead.

Those who get a home phone line included in their package can also choose to add one of two call plans, as well as an optional international calls plan.

Calls Boost Included calls Monthly cost
Unlimited UK Inclusive calls to UK landlines and mobiles at anytime £12 (was £16)
Evening & Weekend UK Inclusive calls to UK landlines and mobiles in the evening and at the weekend £8 (was £10)
International Max 1,000 minutes to landlines and mobiles in over 50 international destinations; discounted calls to other countries £7 (was £14)

While prices have recently increased for home phone call plans, at the time of writing they're on offer for up to £7 off per month.

Destinations included in the International Max plan are:

Argentina Australia Austria Bangladesh Belgium
Bulgaria Canada Chile China Colombia
Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland
France Germany Gibraltar Greece Guernsey
Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Ireland
Israel Italy Japan Jersey Latvia
Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malaysia Malta
Mexico Netherlands New Zealand North Cyprus Norway
Palestinian National Authority Poland Portugal Romania Slovakia
Slovenia South Africa South Korea Spain Sweden
Switzerland Taiwan Thailand Turkey USA

Home phone services are no longer a major selling factor for broadband providers these days, and TalkTalk has taken the decision to sell full fibre as data-only lines.


Customer service

Summary: Customer service isn't one of TalkTalk's strongest points, with recent complaints figures still higher than average.

TalkTalk usually have higher than average levels of complaints in Ofcom's quarterly reports, and they had the second most complaints of any major provider in the most recent Q2 2023 figures.

However, their figures tend to fluctuate to some degree, and they've recently said their internal data shows improvements over the Q1 2023 report when they had the most complaints of any provider.

In further research by Ofcom into customer satisfaction and complaints handling, TalkTalk also tend to fair badly, with less satisfied customers than average.

On the flip side however, TalkTalk do tend to answer calls quickly, and they had less customers with a reason to complain than Virgin Media in Ofcom's most recent research.

TalkTalk Industry average
Satisfaction with overall service 78% 82%
Satisfaction with speed of service 76% 80%
Customers with a reason to complain 24% 20%
Satisfaction with complaints handling 46% 51%
Complaints resolved on first contact 34% 39%
Average call waiting time 1 minute, 22 seconds 2 minutes, 37 seconds

One area where TalkTalk do perform better is for pay TV, where they have the second fewest complaints for their TalkTalk TV service, beaten only by customer service superheroes Sky.

Read more about broadband customer service.


Summary: Should you choose TalkTalk broadband?

TalkTalk are one of the UK's biggest broadband providers, although their market position has changed in recent years.

Once well-known as one of the cheapest budget providers, TalkTalk have moved towards offering a more premium service, utilising their wholesale network and partnerships to offer faster broadband speeds and more up to date equipment.

TalkTalk is generally cheaper than BT, however their prices are now often higher than with rival providers like Sky and Plusnet.

However, TalkTalk include a WiFi 6 router with their full fibre deals, which beats Sky and Plusnet who only offer an older WiFi 5 router. Sky customers can upgrade, but this costs more per month, making TalkTalk cheaper overall.

Average download speeds on TalkTalk superfast fibre and full fibre plans are also towards the higher end of the scale compared to equivalent plans offered on the Openreach network.

Customers looking to add a TV service are also catered for with the TalkTalk TV add-on costing just £5 per month and including NOW Boost, which is worth £6. TalkTalk TV also currently offers exclusive discounts on some NOW Memberships and Netflix on some plans.

Overall, TalkTalk offers a strong proposition these days, combining a good router with an optional streaming TV service and fast average download speeds.

Offers change regularly so keep an eye on TalkTalk's latest offers here.

Comments

Nderim
21 August 2021

One of the worst services I have ever received! They try to trick you! They never call you back if the phone hangs up! As long as they get your bank details they will just go ahead with it without reading any term and conditions. The moment they get your bank details to them your just a fish with no rights even if you actually never fully got a chance to hear them of the term and conditions or any paper or any email! I wouldn't recommend anyone use Talk Talk! I would rather pay a bit more and receive full clear contract and respect. N D

stephen hall
4 January 2021

I've been with them 6 years. When I had slow speeds they sent an engineer 2 days later and it was water in the junction box in the street. Compensated me 25 quid. Best move going over 2 them, I'm very happy and just got another free upgrade. I don't know why people do not rate them as TalkTalk to TalkTalk is free. Out of 25 plus mates on it not one has ever complained.

Luke Shaw
5 April 2018

Absolutely diabolical service, do not use TalkTalk, you get what you pay for with broadband and these guys are terrible. I've been with them a year of a 24 month contract, tried to escape but can't without paying £150. Always had slow speeds on broadband and the router they send is terrible, wps doesn't work on it. I asked for this swapping in the first month, they sent an engineer who came out and said "theres nothing wrong with your internet", no joke? I didn't even ring for this I rang for the wps button issue, to fix this would be a new router. I gave up after this and lived without my printer for a year, contacted them last month to cancel thinking I was in a 12 month contract, turns out its 24 month so rather than cancel I thought i'll upgrade to fibre see if that's a bit more reliable and see if I get a better router. I took the deal on £30 something per month, was told the router would arrive in 5-7 working days but it's been like 12 and it's not here, so I rang today on my activation day to chase it up. I was told "we decided not to send one as it's the same router you already have" - that's rubbish as my friend has fibre and it's a different router. If I'm paying for a service I want the latest piece of kit with it, regardless of that or specifically said I need the router as this one doesn't work. In the end I managed to get one sent, should be here before the 13th, a full month after I picked up the phone and upgraded to fibre.

On top of this today is activation day and the broadband has been switched off but the fibre hasn't, so I'm now stuck with no Internet, I rang once again told them I have no connection to which they've said they'll send an engineer out in 24-72 hours, so I could be up to three days with no internet, kids are off school, wife doesn't drive and we have no other form of watching telly that doesn't require an Internet connection. I will most certainly be seeking compensation from TalkTalk and speaking to the financial Ombudsman if I get no response, shockingly awful service and they just don't seem to care in the slightest.

diamant
16 March 2018

You cannot think of anything worse than being with talk talk.
Joining them is one colossal mistake.
If you have an issue they will never fix it and when you want to leave they will send you a leaving fee.
My broadband did't work for 1 year and they still haven't fixed it
My advice STAY THE HELL AWAY FROM THEM

Georgie Boy
4 March 2018

Just tried to cancel my contract with TalkTalk after only 8 hours, broadband was OK but my phone line is dead. They kept fobbing me off for over 2 and half hours (via my mobile) then said they would send an engineer - at my cost - in 2 weeks time to look into the line problem, I told them where to put that! I've now received a direct debit bill from them for £27 - 80 for the 3 days I was supposed have been connected to broadband and phone line. It's a joke, this is the worst company of any sort I have ever had dealings with.

Which broadband deals are available in your area?

independent comparison

We are independent of all of the products and services we compare.

fair comparison

We order our comparison tables by price or feature and never by referral revenue.

charity donations and climate positive

We donate at least 5% of our profits to charity, and we have a climate positive workforce.

Get insider tips and the latest offers in our newsletter